Screen Editors’ Guild announce award nominees

The Australian Screen Editors’ Guild has added a new category to include online and new content streams to its awards night and announced the nominees for the 2012 ASE Awards.

The announcement:

The Australian Screen Editors’ (ASE) Guild is dedicated to the pursuit and recognition of excellence in screen editing across all its forms. It aims to highlight the often invisible art of editing to the public while supporting the people who construct our screen narratives frame by frame.

In 2012 the ASE expanded its activities by opening a new Committee in Brisbane, growing the membership base already established in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Adelaide, and expanding its year-round program of seminars, screenings, masterclasses, training days and mentorships. This year the ASE also celebrated its 10th anniversary of Accreditation, the highest honour the Guild can bestow on an editor.

The culmination of the Guild’s year happens at the annual ASE Awards, nicknamed ‘The Ellies’ after the bronzed elephant statues awarded to winners. The Awards recognise outstanding achievements in editing across all visual mediums, offering the industry and the public a chance to recognise productions whose storytelling has been expertly crafted by their editors.

This year the ASE adds three new categories to its Awards, incorporating a division to the largest entry pool, Documentary, and a new award for Open Content, which recognises online content and work that sits outside the traditional award categories.

“There are so many wonderful facets to editing that were not represented by our more traditional award categories. We’re excited by all the new content being created in title sequences, online content, webisodes, trailers and other new formats, and have been overwhelmed by the response to the new category. In its first year Open Content has already become one of our most popular categories,” says ASE Vice President, Melanie Annan.

The seventh annual ASE Awards take place on Saturday 8th December 2012 at Notes (75 Enmore Road) in Newtown, Sydney. Comedian Julian Morrow (The Chaser) will lend his incisive wit to the ceremony as this year’s Awards host.

The 2012 ‘Ellie’ Award nominees are:
Avid Award for Best Editing in a Feature Film
Burning Man, Martin Connor
Mental, Jill Bilcock ASE ACE
The Sapphires, Dany Cooper, ASE
Wish You Were Here, Jason Ballantine ASE

Blue Post Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Feature
The Curse of the Gothic Symphony, Scott Walton
Despite the Gods, Melanie Annan
On Borrowed Time, Lindi Harrison ASE & Andrew Arestides ASE
Paul Kelly – Stories of Me, Sally Fryer

Adobe Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Program
A Law Unto Himself, Andrea Lang ASE
Divorce Aussie Islamic Way, Andrew Arestides ASE
Ochre and Ink, Karen Johnson
The Trial, Steven Robinson ASE

TwoDogs.TV Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Series
Anatomy Series 3 – ‘Nerve’, Karryn De Cinque
Australian Story – ‘Streets with No Names’, Steven Baras-Miller
Country Town Rescue – Episode 1, Orly Danon
Foreign Correspondent – ‘That Was Then This Is Now’, Garth Thomas

Digital Pictures Award for Best Editing in a Television Drama
The Great Mint Swindle, Antonio Mestres
Killing Time – Episode 9, Nathan Wild
Puberty Blues – Episode 1, Deborah Peart
The Slap – Episode 1 ‘Hector’, Mark Atkin ASE

Videocraft Award for Best Editing in Television Factual
The Amazing Race Australia – Series 2, Episode 12, Paula Zorgdrager
Go Back To Where You Came From – Series 2, Episode 1, Orly Danon
Go Back To Where You Came From – Series 2, Episode 2, Matthew Walker
Two On The Great Divide – Episode 2, Andrea Lang ASE

EFilm Award for Best Editing in a Commercial
Ajax – ‘Teppanyaki’, Brad Hurt
Cricket Australia – ‘Not on our Watch’, Chris Doherty
Volkswagen Tiguan – ‘Cross Country’, Drew Thompson ASE
Woolworths – ‘Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…’, Daniel Lee and David Whittaker

Autodesk Award for Best Editing in a Music Video
‘Bird on the Buffalo’ – Angus Stone, Peter Barton
‘Control’ – Guards of May, Allan Woolford
‘Gold’ – Guy Sebastian, John Gavin
‘It’s Nice to be Alive’ – Ball Park Music, Derryn Watts

AFTRS Award for Best Editing in a Short Film
Dave’s Dead, Annabelle Johnson
Peekaboo, Katie Flaxman
Spine, Melanie Annan
The Wilding, Anthony Cox

Digistor Award for Best Editing, Open Content
Boost ‘Moreing’, David Whittaker
Event Zero – Episode 4, Julian Harvey
L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival – The New Antipodeans, John Gavin
Monk: Reloaded, Karen Pearlman



Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.