Citi reveals 2021 Journalism Awards for Excellence winners

Citi has named the 2021 Journalism Awards for Excellence winners.

The announcement:

Citi is pleased to announce that Michael Roddan is the winner of the coveted 2021 Citi Journalism Award for Excellence for his series on AMP Capital boss Boe Pahari, published in The Australian Financial Review.

The winner of the Australia & New Zealand Citi Journalism Awards for Excellence would normally join media colleagues from around the world for a study tour hosted by the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism in New York, however, in light of current circumstances, the winner will be updated as soon as possible regarding whether the tour can go ahead.

One of the key attributes of the awards is the integrity and independence of the judging panel, which is designed to represent a broad range of prominent Australian business, regulatory and community leaders. A panel of independent judges determined the winners based on criteria that included analysis and understanding of the issue, introduction of new ideas, use of research and interviews, originality in thinking and impact.

The Citi Journalism Awards for Excellence programme encourages and recognises outstanding business and finance reporting across Australia and New Zealand.

This year 87 entries were received from Australian and New Zealand journalists representing 25 publications across four categories; General Business, Markets and Investment, The Economy and Broadcast Media. The awards have now been running globally for 38 years.

The 2021 category winners are:

  • Joe Aston, winner of General Business 1 category for his series on ‘Rio Tinto’, published in The Australian Financial Review.

  • Michael Roddan, winner of General Business 2 for his series on ‘AMP Capital boss Boe Pahari’, published in The Australian Financial Review.

  • John Kehoe, winner of The Economy category for his series ‘Job Keeper wage subsidy for big business’ published in The Australian Financial Review.

  • Sarah Danckert, winner of the Markets and Investment category for her series ‘Bigger than the Wolf of Wall Street’ published in The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age.

  • Chris Gillett & Adele Ferguson, winners of the Broadcast Media category for their investigation ‘Alinta Energy accused of putting customer data at risk’, aired on the ABC.

  • Charlotte Grieve, winner of the Citi Young Business Journalist of the Year Award for her broadcast ‘Operation Atlantis’ aired on Nine’s 60 Minutes.

  • Calida Stuart-Menteath, winner of the New Zealand Journalist of the Year Award for her series on ‘FE Investments’, published in the National Business Review.

Source: Citi media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.