Clemenger tops catalogue awards with Myer effort

The Australasian Catalogue Association has handed out its 25th annual awards with Clemenger BBDO named Agency of the Year.

CatalogueThe announcement:

Clemenger BBDO has been crowned ‘Agency of the Year’ last Friday at the 25th Annual ACA Awards, recognising creativity, diversity and effectiveness of catalogue and consumer marketing. With retailers, creatives, agencies and producers in the same room there was a great deal of excitement amongst the 722 guests for the much anticipated ‘Agency of the Year’ Award.

Clemenger BBDO were triumphant for their work on enhancing the Myer brand. Not only winning ‘Agency of the Year’, Clemenger BBDO also took home five category wins for Myer with ‘Catalogue Retailer of the Year – up to 1.5M’, ‘Children’s Apparel’, ‘Whitegoods, Electricals, Electronics & Home Entertainment’, ‘Technology on Paper – Effectiveness’ and ‘Multi-channel Campaign’.

Clemenger BBDO succeeded over stiff competition with Agency finalists including AJF Partnership for Officeworks, First Choice Liquor and Vintage Cellars, GP Advertising for Harvey Norman Group and Whybin\TBWA & Maud for David Jones.

Pippa O’Regan, Head of Retail, Clemenger BBDO said on the night “We are thrilled to have claimed the title of Agency of the Year. Working with the dedicated team at Myer has been great and we’re very proud of our efforts. The other finalists were all very deserving and it’s great to see just how much talent there is in the industry right now.”

The finalists were equally delighted, “A big congratulations to the entire AJF Partnership team! Our catalogue creative is a huge part of many of our client’s marketing campaigns. We are thrilled to come out with some winners on the night – it’s been a great year for us!” said Susan Bird, Group Account Director, AJF Partnership the Agency for Officeworks, First Choice Liquor and Vintage Cellars.

Jenny Calcott, Production Director – Retail of Whybin\TBWA & Maud, commented on the night “Congratulations and thank you to our team for their amazing work on the David Jones catalogues this past year. We are so proud of the work we produced, especially because we appreciate the great importance and pivotal role the catalogue plays within David Jones’ sales and marketing mix.”

Paper Stone Scissors took out the Award for the prestigious ‘Judge’s Choice’ for their work on ‘Mother’s Day’ for Peter Alexander. Emily Woollett, Creative Director, Paper Stone Scissors said, “We are honoured to be recognised for our work with Peter Alexander! This catalogue was all about communicating the style and personality of the brand and I’m so glad that our team’s dedication and efforts were highlighted this year for doing just that.”

Kellie Northwood, Chief Executive Officer, ACA said of the night “It is always a terrific event to celebrate a rich, diverse and creative industry. 77% of the population engaged with a catalogue in the past month and these figures continue to rise proving that this is an exciting time to be a part of the industry. Special congratulations goes to Clemenger BBDO for being honoured as ‘Agency of the Year’. This is a standout achievement and reflective of the wonderful work they are delivering for Myer.”

The Major Australasian Catalogue Awards Winners and Finalists:

Agency of the Year (Sponsored by Fairfax Media)

Winner Clemenger BBDO

Finalists AJF Partnership, GP Advertising and Whybin\TBWA & Maud

Best Young Designer (Sponsored by Offset Alpine Printing)

Winner Anthony Christie of Kmart

Finalists Alesha Rowe of Choices Flooring, Cass Mackenzie of Tomorrow Agency and Kate Cochrane of Kmart

Best Young Talent (sponsored by Stora Enso)

Winner Yen Hoang of Myer

Finalists Jane Sargood of Coles, Lucy Price of Kmart and Samantha Smith of Woolworths

Judge’s Choice (sponsored by Australia Post)

Winner Peter Alexander – ‘Mother’s Day’ produced by Paper Stone Scissors

Finalists David Jones – ‘AW16 Brand Book Two’ produced by Whybin\TBWA & MAUD, Lush – ‘Fresh Matters’

produced by Lush in-house team and Myer – ‘The Smart Guide to Technology’ produced by Clemenger BBDO

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – up to 1.5m (sponsored by Norske Skog)

Winner Myer – produced by Clemenger BBDO

Finalists Chemmart – produced by Chemmart in-house team, David Jones – produced by Whybin\TBWA & Maud

and Nutrimetics – produced by Nutrimetics in-house team

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – up to 3.5m (sponsored by Norske Skog)

Winner Harvey Norman group – produced by GP advertising

Finalists Anaconda – produced by Anaconda in-house team, Harris Scarfe – produced by J Walter Thompson

Melbourne and Telstra – produced by Paragon Design Group and Wellcom Worldwide

Catalogue Retailer of the Year – over 3.5m (sponsored by Norske Skog)

Winner Dan Murphy’s – produced by Hardie Grant and Red Jelly

Finalists First Choice Liquor – produced by Coles in-house studio, Kmart – produced by Kmart in-house team and

Priceline Pharmacy – produced by Girl

For a full listing of Winners and Finalists go to www.catalogue.asn.au/awards

Source: ACA press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.