DDB’s Chris Brown joins Comms Council board

DDB Sydney’s MD Chris Brown has joined the board of the Communications Council.

The appointment comes four months after the exit of Jeremy Nicholas, Darryn Devlin and Grant Rutherford after the Comms Council’s AGM in May, when JWT ECD Mark Harricks joined the board.

The announcement:

The Communications Council today welcomes Chris Brown, Group Managing Director at DDB, to its National Board.

Chris has 14 years of experience within the DDB network, working on iconic brands including Sony, Unilever, J&J, Telstra, Tourism Australia and Volkswagen. Chris has got a strong track record of generating award-winning work, scooping accolades around the world including a Cannes Gold and various One Show, D&AD, IPA and Australian EFFIE awards.

Brown started off as a graduate at BMP DDB in London, after which he moved to DDB Sydney nine years ago. There he was rapidly promoted to the Board of Management and Managing Partner of DDB Sydney at the age of 30, and Group Managing Director of DDB Group at the age of 33. He is currently charged with the management of the DDB, RAPP, DDB Remedy, Tribal DDB and Mango brands.

Commenting on his appointment Chris said: “These are exciting times for our industry and it is a privilege and an honour to join the Communications Council Board.

There has never been a more opportune time to champion commercial creativity and demonstrate the power of what we collectively do.”

“I look forward to that challenge”

Communications Council Chairman Anthony Freeman welcomed Chris and said: “We’re very pleased that Chris will be joining us. Chris is an agency leader of the highest calibre. With his knowledge and experience in this industry I have no doubt that he will be a valuable addition to the current Board.”

Daniel Leesong, CEO of The Communications Council said: “Chris is a welcome new voice on our current Board. With our ever expanding suite of Communications Council activities, initiatives and events, we look forward to Chris’ contribution.

About the current Board

The Communications Council Board has thirteen members. They are

Anthony Freedman – Communications Council Chairman, Chief Executive Officer Host.

  • Craig Davis –  Communications Council Deputy Chairman, Co-Chairman & Chief Creative Officer Publicis Mojo
  • Mark Coad – Chief Executive Officer CHE
  • Tom Dery – Worldwide Chairman M & C Saatchi
  • Lindsey Evans – Happy Soldiers
  • Melinda Geertz – Chief Executive Officer Leo Burnett Melbourne
  • Sudeep Gohil –Executive Planning Director / Partner Droga5
  • Mark Harricks – Executive Creative Director JWT
  • Peter Horgan – Managing Director OMD
  • David Lo – Chief Executive Officer The Marketing Zoo
  • Iain MacDonald – Executive Creative Director Amnesia Razorfish
  • Matthew Melhuish – Head of Australian Agencies Photon Group
  • Michael Ritchie – Executive Producer Revolver



Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.