Entries open for 32nd Australian Commercial Radio Awards

Entries are now open for the 32nd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs). Winners will be announced at The Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, 10 October.

The announcement:

The 32nd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (the ACRAs) will return to the Gold Coast on Saturday, October 10, with the who’s who of commercial radio set to hit the red carpet at The Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Entries for the awards open today, with more than 1,000 of the industry’s stars, personalities and executives from around Australia expected to attend the event.

Awards will be handed out in 39 categories, covering all areas of radio broadcasting, including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment.

The ACRAs are organised by Commercial Radio Australia and were last held on the Gold Coast in 2015. The big event will be preceded by Radio Alive 2020, the industry’s national radio conference, which will be held at The Star Gold Coast with more than 600 delegates.

“We’re looking forward to bringing the ACRAs and conference to the Gold Coast this year to celebrate the best of Australian radio,” said Joan Warner, chief executive officer of CRA.

“Last year’s events attracted millions of dollars’ worth of publicity across TV, radio, print, online and social media, and we look forward to putting our best foot forward again this year, while also providing a boost to the local tourism industry.”

Last year’s big radio award winners were WSFM breakfast hosts Brendan Jones and Amanda Keller, who were crowned Best On-Air Team (FM), 2GB drive time host Ben Fordham who won Best Talk Presenter and 2GB’s Erin Molan & Natalie Peters, who won Best On-Air Team (AM). A highlight of the ACRAs is the Hall of Fame, with broadcasting legend Doug Mulray inducted last year.

Entries for the ACRAs are received from 260 metropolitan and regional commercial radio stations across Australia, with judging undertaken by industry and specialist panels. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.

Entries for this year’s awards close on 15 May 2020.

Information on how to enter the awards can be found at the website www.acras.com.au.

See video highlights from the 2019 awards.

Source: Commercial Radio Australia media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.