Fairfax journos win 13 trophies for NSW journalism at Kennedy Awards

Fairfax Media journalists scored the most wins at The Kennedy Awards on Friday night.


The awards, recognising the best journalism in NSW, take place in memory of former crime reporter, Les Kennedy.

Helped by a number of collaborations between Fairfax Media and the ABC’s Four Corners, Fairfax Media recorded 13 winners. News Corp and The ABC both clocked up eight winners. Seven and Nine recorded two wins each, while the BBC, SBS, Mail Online and Sky picked up one trophy apiece.

Adele Ferguson - the age

Adele Ferguson: Journalist of the Year

Among the top prizes, Adele Ferguson was named Journalist of the Year.

The winners:

  • Les Kennedy Award for Outstanding Crime Reporting – Dan Box (The Australian)
  • Paul Lockyer Award for Outstanding Regional Broadcast Reporting  Joanna Woodburn (ABC TV)
  • Chris Watson Award for Outstanding Regional Newspaper Reporting – Andrew Pearson (Illawarra Mercury)
  • Rod Allen Award for Racing Writer of the Year – Ray Thomas (Daily Telegraph)
  • Outstanding Turf Reporting – Andrew Webster (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Sean Flannery Award for Outstanding Radio Reporting – Giselle Wakatama (ABC)
  • Outstanding Radio Current Affairs Reporting and Audio Blog – Dan Box Eric George (The Australian)
  • Outstanding News Photo Rohan Kelly (Sunday Telegraph)
  • Outstanding Portrait  Alex Ellinghausen (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Outstanding Sport Photo – Brett Costello (Daily Telegraph)
  • Outstanding Online Video – Bill Code (BBC Online)
  • People’s Choice Photo – Gordon McKomiskie, (Daily telegraph)
  • Cliff Neville Award – Outstanding Team Player – Phil Kwok
  • Peter Frilingos Award for Outstanding Sports Reporting – Nick Tabakoff (Daily Telegraph)
  • Outstanding Travel Writing –Joe Aston (Australian Financial Review)
  •  2016 Young Journalist of the Year Eryk Bagshaw (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • John Newfong Award for Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting –Ben Hills (SBS)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – John Smith (The Daily Telegraph)
  • Gary Ticehurst Award Outstanding TV News Camera Coverage Cameron Wallis (7 News)
  • Harry Potter Award for Outstanding Television News Reporting – Robert Ovadia and Chris Maher (7 News)
  • Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting (long form, over 30 minutes) – Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Clay Hichens, Mario Christodoulou (Four Corners ABC TV)
  • Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting (short form) Rebecca Le Tourneau, Allison Langdon (60 Minutes)
  • Outstanding Finance Reporting –  Adele Ferguson,  Mario Christodoulou, Klaus Toft Fairfax/Four Corners;
  • Outstanding Court Reporting – Candace Sutton (Daily Mail)
  • Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting  Sarah Dingle, Joel Tozer, Jaya Balendra (Four Corners ABC TV)
  • Peter Ruehl Award for Outstanding Columnist –  Jacqueline Maley (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Outstanding Online News Breaking  Ava Benny Morrison, Lisa Visentin, Nick Ralston (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Outstanding Reporting on the Environment – Peter Hannam (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • 2016 Scoop of the Year Dan Nolan (A Current Affair)
  • 2016 Vince O’Farrell Award: Outstanding Illustration – John Shakespeare (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Outstanding Investigative Reporting – Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft, Sarah Danckert (Fairfax/ABC TV)
  • 2016 Jim Oram Award: Outstanding Feature Writing – Trent Dalton (The Australian)
  • Outstanding Political Reporting  David Speers (SKY News)
  •  2016 Coca–Cola Journalist of the Year – Adele Ferguson (Fairfax/Four Corners)

Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.