Finalists for the Newspaper of the Year Awards revealed

The Newspaper of the Year Awards, known as the PANPAS, have announced the 2017 finalists.

The announcement:

Finalists for the 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards, that recognise excellence in news media publishing in print and online, photography, environmental initiatives and print and production, have been announced today.

The awards, known as the PANPAs, attracted a higher number of entries than previous years, coming from publishers across Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and Asia.

The Newspaper of the Year awards will be presented at a gala dinner on September 6th, at the conclusion of the INFORM News Media Summit at the International Convention Centre in Sydney. The awards night will be hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen. Tickets for the evening can be purchased at informsummit.com.

“Our news media brands continue to be among the best in the world and this year’s standard of entries again reflected a high level of excellence in each category. Our judging panel had the challenging task of selecting the best of the best for the hotly contested awards. The PANPAs are the region’s pre-eminent awards in the news media industry and I’d like to congratulate all the finalists,” NewsMediaWorks CEO, Peter Miller, said.

The awards, sponsored by Norske Skog, are open to national, metropolitan, regional, rural and community news media brands in Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and Asia. The awards place an emphasis on the quality of journalism, cross platform execution, design and the ability to engage audiences across multiple platforms.

There are six categories for this year’s Newspaper of the Year awards:
• Newspaper of the Year – sponsored by Norske Skog
• Digital Destinations of the Year
• Photography of the Year – sponsored by Media Super
• Technical Excellence – sponsored by DIC
• Hegarty Scholarship (for young news media executives) – sponsored by Media Super
• Environment

The full Newspaper of the Year awards finalists list can be found here:

Judges for the 2017 Awards are:

Andrew McKean, Miguel D’Souza, Earl Wilkinson, Tony Gilles, Peter Miller, Tim Burrowes, Foad Fadahgi, Samantha Amjadali, Tim Bauer, Camila Carmody, Christopher Getts, Alan Howe, Grant Booker, Rick Slowgrove, Paul Burston, Mal Dale, Peter Netchaef, Jon Reid, Peter Clark, David Roles, Steve Packham, Eva Rinaldi, Ian Moore, Damien Munday, Christopher Pash, John Hancock, Mark Dadswell, Gavin Ellis, Andy Moger, Ed Efchak, Karyn Krawford, David Hovenden, Nisin Sunito, Mark Hollands, Simon Wake, Charlie Murdoch, Herbert Kieleithner, Michael Van Wyk, Brian Hill, Udesh Gunatunga, Greg Graham, Kellie Northwood, Frank Masterson, Mary Ann Azer, Cheryl Stanion, Peter Cornelius, Phillip Campbell, Roger Coombs, Michael Rose, Mark Sharman, Steve Davis, Jane Schulze.

Source: Third Avenue


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.