Green Committee takes shape

Encore reveals the names of the initial board members for the National Green Screen Committee created by Australia’s screen agencies.

The NGSC will see all agencies working together on a national strategy for the improvement of the industry’s environmental practices.

There will be no office or dedicated staff, but all members have vowed to provide representation and undertake the tasks determined by the Committee. Because the work plan is still in draft stage, the agencies’ financial and/or in-kind commitment has not been determined.

The participating organisations have nominated a representative to participate in quarterly meetings – limiting committee membership to eleven, with a quorum of no less than five members – and develop the implementation strategy and work plan.  The initial board members are: 

  • Film Victoria – Lindsay Lipson, Jana Blair, Genevieve Gaffy
  • Screen NSW – to be confirmed
  • ScreenWest – Neta Gill
  • Screen Tasmania – Jane Stapleton
  • Screen Australia – Chris Oliver
  • Screen Queensland – Jess Conoplia
  • Screen ACT – Monica Penders
  • South Australian Film Corporation – Sharon Cleary
  • Northern Territory Film Office – Penelope McDonald

 The NGSC will provide quarterly updates to the agency members. At the same time, each agency will assess its own operations and improve them in order to reduce their environmental footprint.

 The Committee will review its initial structure and operations after the first 12 months.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.