Ita Buttrose, Carrie Bickmore and Leigh Sales among those recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours List

A number of Australian media professionals have been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List, including ABC chair Ita Buttrose, 7.30 host Leigh Sales and The Project’s Carrie Bickmore.

The list recognises Australians who have made a significant contribution to the community in their respective fields.

Ita Buttrose

Buttrose was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for leadership in the media, arts and health sector. Sales was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to broadcast media.

Ten’s Bickmore was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to broadcast media and also her work with brain cancer awareness. Bickmore founded the Beanies 4 Brain Cancer foundation in honour of her late husband, Greg Lange.

“I am so honoured to have been awarded an Order of Australia. Having seen the inspiring Australians who have also received awards, I feel so humbled to be in their company,” said Bickmore.

“When I started my foundation I simply wanted to raise awareness about brain cancer and the devastating impact it was having on families all around our great country.

“Now four years on thanks to the generosity of Australians we have raised nearly $11.5 million. Seeing the work that is being done with the money we have granted is so encouraging and the scientists and researchers who have been advocating in this space for many years are the ones who deserve recognition.”

ABC presenter Dr Rachael Kohn was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (OA) for her contribution to broadcast media, particularly radio, as a creator, producer and presenter, and to Jewish studies.

OAMs also went to sports journalists Ken Sutcliffe and Louise Evans, who was the first woman sports journalist at the Sydney Morning Herald. The former head of AFTRS, Lisa Sweeney, and ABC journalist Judy Tierney were also recognised.

Author and journalist Jane Caro, ex-iSentia boss John Croll, former The Australian editor Campbell Reid, economics journalist Peter Martin and TV host Mike Whitney were also made Members of the Order of Australia.



Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.