Newspaper of the Year finalists announced by The Newspaper Works

The Newspaper Works announces the list of finalists for the 2014 Newspaper of the Year awards.

The announcement: 

The Newspaper Works today announced the list of finalists for the 2014 Newspaper of the Year awards.

A panel of judges convened this week to decide the finalists for the Newspaper of the Year in the National/Metropolitan and Weekend Newspaper of the Year categories.

A separate panel for the Technical Excellence awards has now released the finalists for the Print Centre of the Year.

The Newspaper Works CEO, Mark Hollands, said judges remarked on the high quality of entries for the newspaper categories.

“We have some of the best newspapers in the world, and the challenge of trying to decide a set of finalists – never mind a winner – is a tough task,” he said.

A change of criteria for the Newspaper of the Year has placed greater emphasis on the quality of journalism, digital execution and the ability to record a growing audience.

Newspaper of the Year non-voting chairman of judges Ian Moore said: “The awards continue to attract an outstanding quality of entries and demonstrate the strength and innovation in the Asia Pacific newspaper industry. There was plenty of robust debate among the judging panel to determine the finalists for 2014.”

More than 1,000 entries have been submitted to this year’s awards, known as the PANPAs, which cover newspapers, photography, advertising, marketing, environment and print and production.

Hollands said: “The Newspaper of the Year awards continue to attract great support despite the increasing commercial pressures on the industry and, therefore, newspaper colleagues. I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to enter, and in doing so, contributed to the sense of community of our industry.”

The Newspaper of the Year awards, proudly sponsored by Norske Skog, will be announced on August 21 at a gala night at The Ivy in Sydney, hosted by media personality Julia Zemiro. The Advertising & Marketing Awards will be announced at The Establishment in Sydney on August 20, during the Future Forum conference.

The finalists for 2014 Newspaper of the Year are:

Daily Newspaper of the Year (National / Metropolitan):

  • Herald Sun
  • New Zealand Herald
  • The Advertiser
  • The Age
  • The Australian
  • The Australian Financial Review
  • The Courier-Mail
  • The Daily Telegraph
  • The Sydney Morning Herald
  • The West Australian

Weekend Newspaper of the Year:

  • Sunday Herald Sun
  • Sunday Mail (QLD)
  • The Saturday Age
  • The Saturday Daily Telegraph
  • The Sunday Age
  • The Sunday Telegraph
  • The Sunday Times (WA)
  • The Sydney Morning Herald Weekend
  • The Weekend Australian
  • The Weekend Financial Review
  • Weekend Herald (NZ)

Print Centre of the Year:

  • APN Print Centre, Yandina, Queensland
  • Fairfax Media Print & Distribution, North Richmond, NSW
  • Fairfax Media Print & Distribution, Tamworth, NSW
  • Herdsman Print Centre, Perth, Western Australia
  • News Corp Australia, Sydney Print Centre, NSW

The finalists for other categories can be found at http://www.thenewspaperworks.com.au/2014-newspaper-of-the-year-awards-finalists-announced/

The Judges for the Newspaper of the Year awards are:

Gai Le Roi, Paul Dovas, Simon Wake, Sunita Gloster, Nicole Boyd, Sophie Madden, Denise Shrivel, Peter Miller, Jane Schulze, John Sintras, Mark Harricks, Ray Black, Allison Whitelaw, Matthew Green, Rick Slowgrove, Grant Booker, Jenny Stiles, Dean Gould, Ashadi Hopper, Tom Cooper, Herbert Kieleithner, Scott Player, Jay Morgan, Ian Perrin, John Kroll, Kim Dalton, Warren Beeby, Rick Neville, Tony Gillies, Darrell Mullen, Peter Clark, Steve Packham, Peter Coleman, John Hancock, David Hovenden, Doug Wills, Gavin Ellis, Peter Cornelius, Glen Frost, Chris Pash, Justin Stone, Tim Burrowes, Brad Howarth, Marcelo Silva, Claudia Sagripanti, Joe Zeff, Andre Slade,  Simon Sharwood, Mark Challinor, Richard De Nys, Stuart Cameron, Karyn Crawford, Bill Cain, Cheryl Senter, David Leeson, Geoff Hiscock, Jeff Darmanin, Andy Moger, Hugh Martin, Samantha Amjadhali, Malcolm Alder, Ian Moore (non-voting chair of Newspaper of the Year panel).

Source: Third Avenue media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.