South Australia’s AWARD Top Student accepted by Layla Firth

Layla Firth announced as South Australia 2017 AWARD Top Student.

The announcement:

Layla Firth has been awarded Top Student at the South Australia 2017 AWARD School graduation ceremony, which took place at The Austral Hotel in Adelaide on Thursday night (27 July).

She is now in the running for Top Student at the National AWARD School Competition, with the chance to win a once in a lifetime opportunity to meet David Droga in NYC. The national winner will be announced on Monday 7 August in Sydney.

Commenting on the quality of Layla’s work, SA Judge Oliver Prenton of The Distillery said: “Layla really impressed the judges and she ended up scoring very highly on quite a few briefs. There were a few stand out students this year but her enthusiasm and inquisitive nature mixed with a relentless pursuit to crack the brief ultimately led to some varied and mature thinking.”

SA Judge John McLaren of Blacksheep Advertising adding: “Layla Firth delivered work that had clarity but also a sense of & fun and adventure&. Her work demonstrated a sound grasp of the fundamentals but also some imaginative and strategic thinking.”

Second place was awarded to Pippa Coles.

Before a crowd of industry professionals and supporters, SA AWARD School Head Matt O’Grady of KWP! congratulated the class of 12 graduates on completing the 12 week intensive course.

“As a state known for its energy problems, there was certainly no shortage of it from this year’s AWARD School students. Having headed the school for the past few years, I’d say the ‘Class of 2017’ was our most determined and competitive yet,” he said.

Adding: “It was great to see each student working the tutors hard and finessing their projects right through to the end. I was also encouraged to see some outstanding and unique work in the integrated, digital and innovation categories with several pieces scoring some of the highest marks.”

O’Grady also took the opportunity to thank this year’s lecturers, tutors and judges for their time and support over the 12 week course.

All students were tutored by the following:
Matt O’Grady – KWP!
Corey Swaffer – KWP!
Johnny Velis – Jamshop
Nick Brz – Nation
Michael Gagliardi – BAD Advertising
Matt Minear – BAD Advertising
Andy Scott – Showpony
Oliver Prenton – The Distillery
John McLaren – Blacksheep Advertising
Dave Lawson – WDM Advertising

This year’s five state winners from Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane will have their books reviewed by the National Competition ‘Super Jury’, comprising leading creatives from around
the world. The National Competition coincides with the 30th anniversary of a teenage David Droga, Founder and Creative Chairman of renowned agency Droga5, winning Top Student at AWARD School in 1987.

To mark the occasion, AWARD School will fly the national winner to NYC to meet David Droga and to compare their winning portfolios from 1987 and 2017.

Dates for all graduation ceremonies are as follows:
QLD – Wednesday 19 July
NSW – Tuesday 25 July
VIC – Wednesday 26 July
SA – Thursday 27 July
WA – Friday 28 July
National Announcement (in Sydney) – Monday 7 August


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.