2015 AWARD School Heads announced

A team of nine leading industry creatives have been appointed AWARD School Heads.

The announcement:

A team of nine leading industry creatives have been appointed AWARD School Heads, set to lead Australia’s pre-eminent training program for aspiring Creatives, Copywriters and Art Directors across Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, and Auckland this year.

The full list includes:

  • NSW Peter Ogden Dentsu Creative Director
  • NSW June Laffey MCCann Health ECD
  • VIC Michael Mulcahy JWT Writer
  • VIC Sarah McGregor Leo Burnett Head of Copy
  • WA Craig Buchanan The Brand Agency ECD
  • SA Matt O’Grady KWP! Advertising Creative Director
  • QLD Sarah Chernishov Sapient Nitro Art Director
  • TAS Sam Buxton Clemenger Art Director
  • NZ Rory McKechnie DDB Senior Creative

The announcement comes ahead of three AWARD School information nights which will be held in Sydney, Melbourne and Perth on Thursday 12th course content, entry requirements, and what to expect from the application process.

The application brief will be released and available to download from the AWARD School webpage on Friday 13th intensive course covering 10 briefs, spurring idea generation across a range of different mediums, with focus on the many new digital opportunities available to today’s creatives.

AWARD Chairman, Mark Harricks, said: “Thanks to all of this year’s AWARD School Heads for dedicating their time and skills to AWARD School. It is the high calibre of mentors that draws such large volumes of aspiring creatives to apply each year. We recommend hopefuls come along to our information nights if they are unsure about the application process or course content. The competition is high and the program is tough, so make sure you know what you’re getting yourself in to!”

Attendees do not need to register to attend to upcoming information nights:


Date: Thursday, 12 February

Time: 6:30pm – 7:30pm

Venue: Centre for Adult Education (CAE), 253 Flinders Lane


Date: Thursday, 12 February

Time: 6:30pm – 7:30pm

Venue: NSW Teachers Federation Conference Centre, Auditorium: 37 Reservoir Street, Surry Hills


Date: Thursday, 12 February

Time: 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Venue: Five Bar, 550 Beaufort Street Mount Lawley

Every year, throughout Australasia, AWARD School accepts up to 300 students from around 800 applications. Applications for AWARD School NZ and Tasmania will open later in the year.

Source: The Communications Council media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.