Jacoby-Walkley young journalism scholarship entries open for 2018

The 2018 Jacoby-Walkley scholarship entries have opened. Aimed at final-year university journalism students and recent graduates, the recipient will get a placement at 9News.com along with mentoring from industry leaders.

The announcement:


Journalists Jenny Brockie, Hamish Macdonald, Jim Waley and Dan Ilic will join media executive and award-winning producer, Anita Jacoby, in judging the 2018 Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship – now in its sixth year.

Entries are open for the 14-week paid journalism internship, aimed at final-year university students and recent graduates aged 26 or under. The scholarship is targeted at young storytellers with a passion for broadcast journalism and dreams of carving out a career in the industry.

Established in 2013 by Anita Jacoby, the scholarship recognises the legacy of her father, Phillip Jacoby, a pioneer in the Australian electronics and broadcast industries.

“The Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship is a great example of how the Walkley Foundation and philanthropy can come together to give young journalists a unique opportunity to get a foot in the door, make valuable contacts and find great jobs in the industry. Last year’s winner Lydia Bilton has just started her first job working full-time at 60 Minutes*,” Walkley Foundation Chief Executive, Louisa Graham, said.

Across 14 weeks, the winner can develop their knowledge, understanding and media industry experience with:

  • A 10-week placement in the Nine Network’s News & Current Affairs department in Sydney (four weeks at 60 Minutes, two weeks in the newsroom, two weeks across A Current Affair and Today, plus two weeks with 9News.com.au)
  • A four-week placement at the Walkley Foundation, in the lead up to the Walkley Awards
    Mentoring from senior journalist members of the Walkley Advisory Board
  • Participation in an AFTRS Open course at the Australian Film Television and Radio School

The successful applicant receives a stipend for the 14 weeks of the scholarship and in 2018, the scholarship covers – for the first time – interning at 9News.com.au. Entries close on Thursday April 26. All information about the scholarship is available here.

*Previous winners:

  • Lydia Bilton (2017 winner) is working as associate digital producer at the Nine Network’s 60 Minutes
  • Taylor Denny (2016 winner) is producing videos for The Australian
  • Annalise Bolt (2015 winner) is working as a producer and reporter at 9 News in Perth
  • Kirrily Schwarz (2014 joint winner) is commercial content editor for News Corp Australia
  • Megan Stafford (2014 joint winner) is travelling the globe
  • Will Mumford (2013 winner) is an online producer for Dateline at SBS

As well as previous winners securing positions in their chosen field of journalism, a number of shortlisted applicants have also been offered invaluable opportunities throughout the industry including roles at A Current Affair (Nine), Nine News (Sydney/Gold Coast) and Insight (SBS).

Source: Walkley Foundation media release



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.