AACTA announces nominees for sixth International Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the nominees for the International Awards.

AACTA Awards

The announcement:

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA), today announced the twelve films nominated for the 6th AACTA International Awards across seven categories – Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

MANCHESTER BY THE SEA leads the way with six nominations, followed closely by LA LA LAND and Australian films LION and HACKSAW RIDGE (fresh from receiving nine Awards at the 6th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel in Sydney last week), with five nominations each.

LION and HACKSAW RIDGE will compete alongside ARRIVAL, LA LA LAND and MANCHESTER BY THE SEA for both Best Film and Best Direction.

Mel Gibson’s Best Direction nomination follows his win at the Sydney hosted AACTA Awards last week and marks his return to the international Awards circuit, 20 years after winning an Oscar® and Golden Globe for BRAVEHEART.

Following their nominations for Golden Globe Awards yesterday, Australian actors Joel Edgerton (LOVING) and Nicole Kidman (LION), received International AACTA Award nominations for Best Lead Actor and Best Supporting Actress respectively.

Fellow Australian’s also receiving nominations are: Teresa Palmer (HACKSAW RIDGE), who is nominated alongside Nicole Kidman for Best Supporting Actress; Luke Davies (LION) who is nominated for Best Screenplay; Andrew Knight (HACKSAW RIDGE) also nominated for Best Screenplay; and

Garth Davis (LION) who is nominated alongside Mel Gibson for Best Direction.


AACTA International Award for Best Film

  • LION

AACTA International Award for Best Direction

  • ARRIVAL – Denis Villeneuve
  • HACKSAW RIDGE – Mel Gibson
  • LA LA LAND – Damien Chazelle
  • LION – Garth Davis
  • MANCHESTER BY THE SEA – Kenneth Lonergan

AACTA International Award for Best Screenplay

  •  HACKSAW RIDGE – Andrew Knight, Robert Schenkkan
  • HELL OR HIGH WATER – Taylor Sheridan
  • LA LA LAND – Damien Chazelle
  • LION – Luke Davies
  • MANCHESTER BY THE SEA – Kenneth Lonergan

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress

  • Amy Adams – ARRIVAL
  • Isabel Huppert – ELLE
  • Ruth Negga – LOVING
  • Natalie Portman – JACKIE
  • Emma Stone – LA LA LAND

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor

  • Casey Affleck – MANCHESTER BY THE SEA
  • Joel Edgerton – LOVING
  • Andrew Garfield – HACKSAW RIDGE
  • Ryan Gosling – LA LA LAND
  • Denzel Washington – FENCES

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis – FENCES
  • Naomie Harris – MOONLIGHT
  • Nicole Kidman – LION
  • Teresa Palmer – HACKSAW RIDGE
  • Michelle Williams – MANCHESTER BY THE SEA

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali – MOONLIGHT
  • Jeff Bridges – HELL OR HIGH WATER
  • Lucas Hedges – MANCHESTER BY THE SEA
  • Dev Patel – LION
  • Michael Shannon – NOCTURNAL ANIMALS


Winners of the 6th AACTA International Awards will be announced in Los Angeles on Friday 6 January 2017 at an exclusive ceremony telecast on Foxtel.

Held at The Avalon Hollywood the event will be hosted by Australian actor and presenter Daniel MacPherson. Best known for his roles in THE SHANNARA CHRONICLES, THE BILL, CITY HOMOCIDE, and INFINI, in 2017 Daniel will be seen in Foxtel’s new US hi-tech crime series APB.

The AACTA International Awards will be telecast in Australia exclusively on Foxtel Arts, Foxtel’s high definition dedicated arts channel, on Sunday 8 January at 7.30pm followed by an encore on Arena at 9.30pm and encores the following day on Foxtel Arts.

Of the announcement, AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said: “Australian performers, practitioners and productions are consistently acknowledged among the world’s best screen talent by international screen organisations. The AACTA International Awards give Australian filmmakers the opportunity to participate in the global conversation of screen excellence and allows us to honour the world’s best, regardless of geography.

“This year’s Nominees include actors, directors and screenwriters who truly represent international excellence, and it’s brilliant to see Nicole Kidman, Joel Edgerton, Garth Davis, Mel Gibson and home- grown productions LION and HACKSAW RIDGE nominated alongside international talent for the Awards.

“On behalf of AFI | AACTA, I congratulate all our Nominees and wish them every success during the upcoming Awards season.”

Foxtel Executive Director of Television Brian Walsh said: “Foxtel’s exclusive broadcast of the AACTA International Awards on our Foxtel Arts channel outlines our ongoing commitment to supporting the Australian film and television industry on a global scale. Our sponsorship further extends our support of the domestic AACTA Awards and the governing body of the Academy.”


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.