ABC tops the honours at Walkleys

The ABC picked up the most trophies at The Walkleys last night, narrowly beating News Limited and Fairfax Media.

Among the ABC’s winners was a Gold Walkley for Sarah Ferguson’s agenda-setting Four Corners report on live animal exports.

And the ABC’s Hungry Beast,which currently seems unlikely to get another series, picked up an award for journalist Monique Schafter.

The ABC picked up eight awards, while both News Limited and Fairfax media collected seven. Last year Fairfax won the most trophies.

Another notable winner was Wikileaks.

The Walkley Awards, held in Brisbane this year, are Australia’s top honours for journalists.

The Walkley winners:

Print: Print news report

  • Joseph Catanzaro, The Weekend West, ‘Secret toll of war’

Print: Newspaper feature writing

  • Jill Baker, Herald Sun Weekend, ‘The big C and me’

Print: Magazine feature writing

  •       Mike Colman, Qweekend, The Courier-Mail, ‘Tree of life’

Print: Best three headings

  •       Rita Williams, The Sydney Morning Herald

Artwork: Cartoon

  • David Rowe, The Australian Financial Review, ‘Mini Murdoch’

Artwork: Artwork

  •       Simon Bosch, The Sydney Morning Herald, ‘The dark legacy of child abuse’

Photography: News photography

  • Neville Madsen, Toowoomba Chronicle, ‘Toowoomba flood rescue’

Photography: Daily life / feature photography

  • Stuart McEvoy, The Australian, ‘Cyclone Yasi ‘Maria Domandi’

Photography: Sport photography

  • Adam Pretty, Getty Images, ‘Shanghai World Swimming Championships 2011’

Photography: Photographic essay

  • Glenn Campbell, The Sydney Morning Herald/The Age, ‘Stolen spirits’

Photography: Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year

  • Phil Hillyard, The Daily Telegraph

Radio: Radio news and current affairs reporting

  • Mark Willacy, PM, ABC Radio, ‘Rikuzentakata tsunami’

Radio: Radio feature, documentary or broadcast special

  • Katrina Bolton, Radio Current Affairs Documentaries, ABC Radio, ‘Drink, death and dollars’

Television: Television news reporting

  • Jeremy Ward, Erin Edwards, Luke Miers, Geoff Breusch, Sally Eeles, Seven News, Seven Network, ‘Lockyer Valley flood’

Television: Television current affairs reporting (less than 20 minutes)

  • Monique Schafter, Hungry Beast, ABC TV, ‘Trapped in your own body’

Television: Best broadcast camerawork

  • Jeremy Ward, Seven News, Seven Network, ‘Lockyer Valley flood’

Online: Best online journalism

  • Eleanor Bell, Ed Giles, Suzanne Smith, ABC, ‘Beating the odds’

All media:Sustained coverage of an issue or event

  • Natasha Bita, The Australian, ‘Virus in the system’

All media: Best scoop of the year

  • Matt Moran and Hugh Riminton, Ten News, Network Ten, ‘Skype scandal’

All media: Coverage of community and regional affairs

  • Nigel Hopkins, Adelaide Hills Magazine, ‘Inside Inverbrackie’

All media: International journalism

  • Yaara Bou Melhem, Dateline, SBS TV, ‘Struggle for freedom’

All media: Business journalism

  • Angus Grigg and Jamie Freed, The Australian Financial Review, ‘NSW Labor and the $1 land deal’

All media: Investigative journalism

  • Richard Baker and Nick McKenzie, The Age, ‘RBA held evidence of bribery / Who knew what when?’

All media: Coverage of Indigenous affairs

  • Kathleen Skene, Townsville Bulletin, “Family first”

All media: Sport journalism

  • Caro Meldrum-Hanna, 7.30, ABC TV, ‘Harness racing under scrutiny’

All Media: Social equity journalism

  • Trent Dalton, Qweekend, The Courier-Mail, ‘Home is where the hurt is’

All media: Commentary, analysis, opinion and critique

  • Laura Tingle, The Australian Financial Review, ‘Liars, clunkheads, rent seekers and gamblers: federal politics 2010’11’

All media: Broadcast and online interviewing

  • Tony Jones, Lateline, ABC TV, ‘Christopher Hitchens’, ‘Malcolm Turnbull’ and ‘Chris Bowen’

Long-form journalism: Walkley book award

  • Russell Skelton, King Brown Country: The betrayal of Papunya, Allen & Unwin

Long-form Journalism: Documentary

  • Darren Dale, Tony Krawitz and Chloe Hooper, The Tall Man, Blackfella Films

Most outstanding contribution to journalism

  • WikiLeaks

Journalistic leadership

  • Paul Lockyer

2011 Gold Walkley: Television TV current affairs, feature or special (more than 20 minutes)

  • Sarah Ferguson, Michael Doyle and Anne Worthington, Four Corners, ABC TV, ‘A bloody business’

More details on the winners via this link to the Walkleys website


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.