Applications open for the 2020 Brian White Scholarship

An eight-week paid internship in radio newsrooms is up for grabs, with the Brian White Scholarship now open for entries.

The announcement:

Final year broadcast, media, communications and journalism students and recent graduates from across the country are invited to submit their applications for the 2020 Brian White Scholarship, with the Australian commercial radio industry’s initiative now open for entries.

The recipient of the 2020 scholarship, named after legendary radio broadcaster Brian White, will be awarded an eight-week paid internship working alongside news teams in four of Australia’s busiest radio newsrooms. This will give them the opportunity to gain invaluable on the job experience, while learning directly from skilled news directors, journalists and crews.

Entries for the scholarship are judged by a panel of commercial radio industry experts who will narrow applicants down to 10 finalists across two rounds of judging. The 10 finalists will then attend a one-day workshop in Sydney, where they will develop their on-air presenting skills and meet with commercial radio news directors from Australian Radio Network, Nova Entertainment, Southern Cross Austereo and Nine Radio. From there, the scholarship winner will be selected, with the winner announced on 29 May. The eight-week radio industry work placement will take place in July.

The scholarship recipient can choose to undertake their internship in either Sydney or Melbourne, with the placement broken up into two-week periods spent at Australian Radio Network, Nova Entertainment, Southern Cross Austereo and Nine Radio.

“The Brian White Scholarship is a key initiative for the commercial radio industry, which allows us to support and develop new broadcasting talent and ultimately invest in the future of the radio industry. It presents a wonderful opportunity for students or recent graduates with a passion for radio to get a glimpse inside the fast-paced world of live radio and learn from some of the best in the business in the newsrooms of leading commercial radio networks,” said Joan Warner, chief executive officer of industry body Commercial Radio Australia.

This is the fourth year that the scholarship has been facilitated by the commercial radio industry. Previous recipients of the scholarship are Kamin Gock from Charles Sturt University, Rachel Storer from Newcastle University and Tom Durkin from Edith Cowan University.

Applicants can submit entries online through to Friday, 17 April at www.bhwscholarship.com.

Source: Commercial Radio Australia media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.