Battle of the Media contestants and draw revealed

View the draw as it happened:

The speakers – and draw – can today be revealed for this year’s Battle of the Media at Mumbrella360.

battle of the media drawThe draw:

  • Outdoor vs online
  • Direct mail vs cinema
  • Magazines vs television
  • Radio vs newspapers

The four first round winners go through to a semi final on the second morning of the conference, while two eventually go through to the final as the climax to the event.

The people chosen to represent each medium are:

  • Television – Russel Howcroft, EGM – Melbourne, Network Ten;
  • Newspapers – Mark Hollands, CEO, The Newspaper Works;
  • Outdoor – Richard Herring, CEO, APN Outdoor and chairman, Outdoor Media Association;
  • Direct mail – Peter Biggs, chief executive, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne;
  • Online – Samantha Yorke – Acting CEO, IAB Australia;
  • Magazines – Tony Kendall, Director of sales, Bauer Media Group;
  • Radio – Brendan “Jonesy” Jones – WSFM
  • Cinema – Damian Keogh, CEO, Val Morgan
CAMPBELL REID - battle of the media ebiquity cup

Campbell reid lifts the cup in 2011 | Pic: Jeremy Piper -The Australian

The competitive debate, now in its third year, seeks to crown a single medium as Australia’s best in 2013. The contest sees representatives from each of the eight media pitted against each other in a knock out debating format. Winners are decided by the Mumbrella360 audience.

The first year’s contest was won by newspapers, represented by News Limited editorial director Campbell Reid. Last year the trophy was picked up on behalf of cinema by Damian Keogh, CEO of Val Morgan.

The draw was conducted live from Mumbrella House by Kelvin Kirk, GM of contest sponsor Nine Rewards.

The coaches – who will sum up the performances before the audience votes – are:

  • Round 1: Chris Walton, Principle, Quantium; Jon Chadwick, CEO, Maxus; Ben Wicks, GM – chocolate, Kraft Foods;
  • Round 2: Simon Rush, Principle, Razor; Mark Pejic, CEO, Mediacom; Mat Bruhn, marketing director, Diageo;
  • Semi-finals: Andrew Livingston, CEO, Initiative Media; Simon Rutherford, CEO, Slingshot Media; Helen Kellie, marketing director, SBS
  • Final: Mark Coad, CEO, PHD; John Preston, CEO, Match Media; Nick Baker, marketing director, Tourism Australia

Tickets for Mumbrella360 – which takes place on June 5 and 6 at the Hilton Hotel in Sydney – are on sale now.




Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.