Burning Man leads Film Critics Circle of Australia’s Annual Awards

The Film Critics Circle of Australia has announced its nominees for its Annual Awards for Australian Film for 2011.

Burning Man scored the most nominations, with a spot in 10 of 11 categories.

The film is director Jonathan Teplitzky’s third film and tells the story of an out-of-control chef who is struggling with a life crisis.

With the second most nominations was dark thriller Snowtown in eight categories.

The Hunter starring The Willem Dafoe and directed by Daniel Nettheim and The Eye of the Storm starring Geoffrey Rush and directed by Fred Schepsis both received seven nods.

Red Dog, the year’s highest grossing Australian film for 2011, received only three nominations, including best direction for Kriv Stenders while Oranges and Sunshine, directed by Jim Loach received four.

Ivan Sen’s Toomelah and Julia Leigh’s debut Sleeping Beauty both received one nomination for actors Daniel Connors and Emily Browning respectively.

Animal Kingdom was nominated as the best film of 2010 from the circle last year. It amassed 6 wins from 10 nominations.

The event will take place on Tuesday 10 April at Sydney’s AFTRS.

The nominees list in full:

Best Film
Burning Man  Producers: Jonathan Teplitzky, Andy Paterson
The Eye of the Storm  Producers: Gregory J. Read, Antony Waddington, Fred Schepisi
The Hunter, The  Producer: Vincent Sheehan
Oranges and Sunshine  Producers: Camilla Bray, Emile Sherman,  Iain Canning
Snowtown  Producers:  Anna McLeish, Sarah Shaw

Best Director
Justin Kurzel: Snowtown
Daniel Nettheim: The Hunter
Fred Schepisi: The Eye of the Storm
Kriv Stenders: Red Dog
Jonathan Teplitzky: Burning Man

Best Actress in a  Leading Role
Emily Browning: Sleeping Beauty
Judy Davis: The Eye of the Storm
Bojana Novakovic: Burning Man
Emily Watson: Oranges and Sunshine

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Matthew Goode: Burning Man
Daniel Henshall: Snowtown
Geoffrey Rush: The Eye of the Storm
David Wenham: Oranges and Sunshine

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Essie Davis: Burning Man
Louise Harris: Snowtown
Frances O’Connor: The Hunter
Alexandra Schepisi: The Eye of the Storm

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
John Gaden: The Eye of the Storm
Sam Neill: The Hunter
Hugo Weaving: Oranges and Sunshine

Best Performance by a Young Actor
Daniel Connors: Toomelah
Morgana Davies: The Hunter
Jack Heanly: Burning Man
Finn Woodlock: The Hunter

Best Script
Shaun Grant: Snowtown
Judy Morris: The Eye of the Storm
Jonathan Teplitzky: Burning Man

Best Cinematography
Adam Arkapaw: Snowtown
Robert Humphreys: The Hunter
Garry Phillips: Burning Man

Best Music Score
Lisa Gerrard: Burning Man
Jed Kurzel: Snowtown
Matteo Zingales, Michael Lita, Andrew Lancaster: The Hunter
Cezary Skubiszewski: Red Dog

Best Editor
Jill Bilcock: Red Dog
Martin Connor: Burning Man
Veronika Jenet: Snowtown


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.