Community Broadcasting Association of Australia reveals 2017 finalists

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia has today announced the finalists in its 2017 CBAA Community Radio Awards.

The announcement:

These national awards celebrate excellence in community broadcasting, recognising the achievements of stations, their programs, initiatives and individual contributors that increase their capability and improve the services offered to the community.

CBAA Chief Executive Officer Jon Bisset congratulated all finalists in this year’s awards.

“Congratulations to all finalists, and thank you to the judges that had the difficult job of whittling hundreds of fantastic entries down to the ones announced today. It is one of the great pleasures of our year to see so much of the fantastic work that community radio stations are doing on display in these awards. These finalists speak to the important role that community radio plays in the media landscape and its crucial contributions to local content production, media diversity and building a strong, open and vibrant Australia.”

A full list of finalists is available below. Winners of these awards (as well as the Tony Staley Excellence in Community Broadcasting and Michael Law awards (no finalists announced)) will be revealed at a gala dinner taking place on the Gold Coast, QLD, on Saturday, 11 November. For more information, go to www.cbaa.org.au/awards.

2017 CBAA Community Radio Awards Finalists

Best New Radio Program – Music

Chick Habit – 3MDR
Tango Capital – 2XX FM
Dawn Delaney – World Music Safari – Phoenix FM Bendigo
The Tiki Lounge Remix – 2BBB

Best New Radio Program – Talks

Proudly sponsorship by AFTRS

The Alice Birth Project – 8CCC
Service Voices – service to country, service to community – Radio Adelaide 101.5FM
Radio Seeds – WOWfm
Agenda – FBi Radio

Best Station Production

Great Minds – FBi Radio
Get A Yes! CSA series on Consent – 4ZZZ
40 Years of RTRFM – RTRFM
Fresh 92.7 Production Course Promo – Fresh 92.7

Best Station Promotion or Fundraising Campaign

No Limits Networks Conference – 91.9 Fresh FM
Bay FM 99.9 Radiothon 2016 – Local Radio Global Reach – Bay FM 99.9
November Appeal in partnership with the Salvation Army – 89.9 LightFM
Trapped – Fresh 92.7
Triple R 40th Birthday – Triple R

Contribution to Australian Music

Proudly sponsored by APRA AMCOS

Indigenous Beats – 6NME Noongar Radio
Live Delay – 4ZZZ
Live and Local 89.7fm – 89.7fm Twin Cities FM
The Talent – Season 3 – 3MBS – Fine Music Melbourne

Excellence in Community Participation

3CR Community Radio
Alpine Radio
2RRR 88.5FM

Excellence in Digital Media

Just Words – 2ser
Pregnancy, Birth and Beyond Media – Bay FM 99.9
The Yellow Family – SYN Media
Sunshine FM Mobile App – 104.9 Sunshine FM

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement

6RCI, Christmas Island

Excellence in Indigenous Engagement

Waringarri Radio
Noongar Radio
Harvey Community Radio
Phoenix FM 106.7

Excellence in Music Programming

Proudly sponsorship by PPCA

Sisters Akousmatica – 3CR Community Radio
Down Low Disco – 2SER 107.3
Illuminations: Fame, Fortune & Lies – The Life & Music of Eileen Joyce – 3MBS – Fine Music Melbourne
Fresh Air – Fresh 92.7
The Tiki Lounge Remix – 2BBB

Excellence in Spoken Word, News and Current Affairs Programming

Proudly sponsored by Deutsche Welle

Community Newsroom – NewsHub – Bay FM 99.9
Invasion Day, Survival Day, Australia Day – RTRFM
Saturday Brisbane Line – 4ZZZ
Nambucca Valley Roundup – 2NVR Nambucca Valley Radio

Excellence in Technical Services

Shaun Dennis – Gove FM
Ross Delaforce – 2WET
101FM Outside Broadcast – 4CBL
Loz Stuart – 2SSR FM

Excellence in Training

Broadcaster Training – 3ZZZ
Share The Load – Harvey Community Radio
The SYN Induction – Cross Platform Media Training – SYN Media
Radio 4EB / Global Digital
Access and Diversity Program – PBS 106.7FM

Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast

Inside Out LIVE – Noongar Radio
Mardi Gras Broadcast – JOY 94.9
Neon Picnic – 40 Years of RTRFM – RTRFM
Twang 20th Birthday – Triple R FM

Outstanding Small Station Award

Voice of the Avon 101.3 fm
Radio 2RDJ-FM
Harvey Community Radio 96.5fm

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

Chris Carpenter – Hills Radio 88.9 FM
Lewi Chan – 6RCI, Christmas Island
Rosemary Penn – Vision Australia Radio (5RPH)
Janine Quicke – Harvey Community Radio 96.5fm

Outstanding Youth Contribution

Isabeau Schubert – Bay FM 99.9
Dylan Storer – SYN Media
Zane Dean – Fresh 92.7
Crystal Russom – CoastFM 963

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

Chicks Talkin’ Footy – JOY 94.9
AllStars! – 3KND
El Deportivo de la 3ZZZ – 3ZZZ

Source: Community Broadcasting Association of Australia


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.