Community TV channels get final broadcast lifeline

Australia’s community TV stations have been given a final lifeline by the government, just nine days before they would have had to switch off their transmissions.

The CTV stations will now have to give up their broadcast licences and switch to online only by the end of June next

The extension was announced this morning by communications minister Mitch Fifield.

The terrestrial spectrum used by community TV stations is of high value to the government, which can instead auction it off to other users, including telco providers.

Staffed by volunteers, Australia’s community TV providers include TVS Sydney, C31 Melbourne and Geelong, 31 Digital Brisbane, 44 Adelaide and WTV Perth.

A statement from Fifield said: “Following consultation with CTV broadcasters operating terrestrial services, the Government will allows these services that wish to take up the extension until the end of June 2017 to transition to an online environment.”


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.