Dale ‘Daisy’ Thomas joins Triple M Footy for 2020

Former AFL player Dale ‘Daisy’ Thomas will be joining the commentary team for Triple M Footy in 2020.

The announcement:

Dale ‘Daisy’ Thomas To Rock Triple M Footy In 2020

It will be a case of out of the jungle, into the commentary box for former Blue and Magpie Dale Thomas who has officially joined the Triple M commentary team for the 2020 Toyota AFL Premiership season.

Fresh from a stint on Network Ten’s I’m A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here, the 258-game premiership veteran will bring his unique style of humour and flair to the broadcast as well as a contemporary analysis of the game having retired at the end of 2019.

Thomas had initially hoped to continue his career at the highest level, however after a few months away from the daily grind of pre-season, Daisy is more than comfortable in retirement and says he is looking forward to joining a commentary team that he has listened to throughout his decorated career.

On joining Triple M Footy, Dale said: “I’ve grown up listening Triple M, so to have this opportunity to join the team has me pumped!”

Now in its 24th consecutive season, the Triple M Footy call not only boasts the most qualified, entertaining and star-studded team in the business, but is also Australia’s #1 AFL call on radio*!

Triple M’s Head of Sport, Ewan Giles, said: “Daisy has been a friend of Triple M Footy for a long time, so it was an easy decision to get him onboard for 2020. If he can survive in the jungle then the commentary box should be a walk in the park!”

Triple M Footy kicks off for 2020 with Rd 1 between Richmond V Carlton live from the MCG. Dale will join Nathan Brown, Leigh Montagna, Barry Denner, Ash Chua and Sarah Olle. Tune in from around the country via the Triple M Footy app or online at www.triplem.com.au.

Triple M Footy 2020: James Brayshaw, Brian Taylor, Wayne Carey, Chris Judd, Luke Darcy, Dennis Cometti, Mark Ricciuto, Billy Brownless, Dale Thomas, Mark Howard, Leigh Montagna, Simon Black, Bernie Vince, Andrew Embley, Jude Bolton, Dom Cassisi, Rhett Biglands, Michael Roberts, Jay Clark, Tom Browne, Dr Rohan White, Lachy Reid, Tania Armstrong, Brenton Yates, Kate McCarthy, Richard Champion, Belinda Mellen, Liam Flanagan, Troy Luff, Brad Seymour, Sarah Olle.

Source: Triple M media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.