Feature films announced for AACTA Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts has announced the first round of nominees for the 2012 AACTA Awards.

Among the nominees is a short list of 23 local feature films which screened in theatres across Australia in the last year, or due to screen in the coming months.The feature nominees cross a wide variety of genres, with films The Sapphires, Killer Elite, Mental, Iron Sky, Bait3D, Swerve and Burning Man.

The Australian Film Institute and AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said: “The goal for a healthy Australian feature film industry has always been to combine festival and critical acclaim with audience appeal. The exceptional collection of Feature Films in Competition demonstrates that this year we are well on the way to achieving this mix, and that despite many challenges, we can celebrate a landmark year in the industry.”

“We are thrilled to see many of our former AFI Award-winning directors back with new films in competition. [But] we are also pleased to see fresh talents enter the fray, like Amiel Courtin-Wilson’s poetic and groundbreaking mix of documentary and fiction, Hail, Tony Krawitz’s brooding feature debut based on the Christos Tsiolkas novel, Dead Europe, and of course Wayne Blair’s exuberant and proudly feelgood musical feature The Sapphires.”

Four films have been listed in the categories of feature length documentary, short animation and short fiction film.

More announcements of nominated actors, technicians and films across a list of categories will follow in the coming months.

First announcement:
Feature Films in competition:
33 Postcards
A Few Best Men
Any Questions For Ben?
Bait 3D
Burning Man
Careless Love
Dead Europe
Housos vs Authority
Iron Sky
Kath & Kimderella
Killer Elite
The King Is Dead!
Last Dance
Not Suitable For Children
Santa’s Apprentice
The Sapphires
Wish You Were Here

Best Feature Length Documentary:
A Common Purpose – Mitzi Goldman
The Curse Of The Gothic Symphony – Veronica Fury
Dr Sarmast’s Music School – Beth Frey
Storm Surfers 3D – Ellenor Cox, Marcus Gillezeau

Best Short Animation:
The Hunter – Marieka Walsh
LEGO® Star Wars®: The Padawan MenaceTM – David Scott, Mark Thorley, Amber Naismith
The Maker – Christopher Kezelos, Christine Kezelos
Sleight of Hand – Michael Cusack, Richard Chataway ACS

Best Short Fiction Film:
B I N O – Billie Pleffer, Rita Walsh
Dumpy Goes To The Big Smoke – Mirrah Foulkes, David Michôd, Michael Cody
Julian – Robert Jago, Matthew Moore
Transmission – Zak Hilditch, Liz Kearney



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing