Finalists announced for 2014 ACRAs

Commercial Radio Australia has announced the finalists in the 26th annual ACRAs.

The announcement:

Commercial Radio Australia (CRA) today announced finalists in the 26th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), which will recognise radio’s brightest stars from around the country.

Last year’s Metropolitan Best On-Air Team FM winners, The Kyle and Jackie O Show (Kyle Sandilands and Jackie Henderson, KIIS 1065, Syd, ARN), who have won four times, are once again up against 2012 winners Jonesy and Amanda (Brendan Jones and Amanda Keller, WSFM, Syd, ARN). Also competing for the title is Rosso On Drive (Tim Ross & Matthew Baseley, KIIS 106.5, Syd & Mix 101.1 FM Melb); Fitzy and Wippa (Nova 96.9 Syd, Nova Entertainment); Kate, Tim & Marty (Kate Ritchie, Tim Blackwell & Marty Sheargold, Nova Network, Nova Entertainment); and Hot Breakfast (Eddie McGuire, Luke Darcy & Mick Molloy, Triple M, Melb, SCA).

The Metropolitan Best On-Air Team AM title will be a contest between last year’s two-time winners 3AW Breakfast (Ross Stevenson & John Burns, 3AW, Melb, Fairfax Radio Network) against 3AW Nightline/Remember When (Bruce Mansfield & Phillip Brady, 3AW, Melb, Fairfax Radio); Crunch Time (Anthony Hudson, Dermott Brereton, Robert Walls & Mark Robinson, 1116 SEN, Melb, Pacific Star Network); the George & Paul Show (George Moore & Paul B Kidd, 2UE, Syd, Fairfax Radio Network); and The Continuous Call Team (Ray Hadley, Bob Fulton, Steve Roach & Darryl Brohman, 2GB, Syd, Macquarie Radio Network).

This year’s metro finalists for Best Newcomer On-Air include Melissa Doyle (Smooth FM, Syd, Nova Entertainment), Miranda Devine (2GB, Syd, Macquarie Radio Network), Jonathon Moran, Nova Network, Nova Entertainment), Tommy Little (Nova 100, Melb, Nova Entertainment) and Dave Thornton (Fox FM, Melb, SCA).

Best Current Affairs Presenter finalists include Neil Mitchell (3AW, Melb, Fairfax Radio Network), EddieMcGuire (Triple M, Melb, SCA), Ray Hadley (2GB, Syd, Macquarie Radio Network) and Ben Fordham (2GB, Syd, Macquarie Radio Network.

Other major award categories include: Best News Presenter FM & AM, Best Music Special, Best Sports Presenter, Best Music Presenter, Best Marketing Campaign and Best Digital Radio Format, Long Term, won last year by digital station Buddha Radio (SCA).

Regional stations are well represented at the ACRAs with a total of 175 finalists from country, provincial and non-metro stations.

Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: “As radio continues to innovate and evolve, the ACRAs remain a highlight on the calendar to recognise industry excellence. Radio colleagues from the smallest to the largest radio stations from around the country gather each year in the spirit of friendly competition. It’s a night to celebrate, be inspired by peers, and be proud of their collective work as an industry.”

Entries were received from 260 metropolitan and regional radio stations across Australia. Winners will be announced at a gala black tie event, to be held for the first time at the Melbourne Convention and Entertainment Centre on Saturday, 18 October.

Source: CRA media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.