First Mumbrella Awards shortlists revealed

The first shortlists can be revealed for this year’s Mumbrella Awards.

The process has undergone a major revamp this year with new categories, a rigorous, two-stage judging process and Telstra’s chief marketing officer Mark Buckman as independent chairman of the juries.

Among the most hotly contested categories are the new ones of The Mumbrella Award for Bravery, The Mumbrella Award for Culture, The Mumbrella Award for Innovation and The Mumbrella Award for Culture, which received more than 40 entries each.

The awards take place at Doltone House in Sydney on the evening of Thursday September 13.

We today reveal the shortlists for the agency of the year categories

Among the most intriguing categories is that of creative agency of the year, which sees the Sydney and Melbourne offices of Clemenger BBDO go head-to-head, and the same for Leo Burnett.

The agency of the year shortlists:

PR Agency of the Year

  • Edelman
  • Eleven PR
  • Javelin Australia
  • One Green Bean

Creative Agency of the Year

  • Clemenger BBDO Melbourne
  • Clemenger BBDO Sydney
  • Leo Burnett Melbourne
  • Leo Burnett Sydney
  • The Monkeys
  • Whybin\TBWA Sydney

Specialist Agency of the Year

  • Edge
  • McCann Health Sydney
  • We Are Social

Media Agency of the Year

  • Ikon
  • Match
  • Mediacom
  • PHD
  • UM

In an innovation for this market, the jury for creative agency of the year will visit the offices of the shortlisted agencies.

Those in the agency of the year categories face the toughest challenge. As well as winning over their own juries, scores from the innovation, bravery, insight and culture juries will make up 50% of the marks.

Because of capacity limitations at the venue, tables at the event are unlikely to be available for sale beyond shortlisted teams.

More shortlists will be revealed tomorrow.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing