MEAA’s president Marcus Strom stands down after 5 years in post

Nominations for the post of national president of the Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance’s (MEAA) media section have closed and for the first time in five years the election will be contested.

Last week, Marcus Strom, a University of Sydney media advisor declared on his Twitter page that he won’t be re-contesting after five years as the federal president, with a spokesperson from the MEAA also confirming this news.

Mumbrella understands Chris Pash, editor of AdNews and former director of content licensing for Dow Jones Asia Pacific, will be standing against Karen Percy, who has also been nominated*.

Strom wrote on his Twitter last week: “I told Stephen (from SMH) that I was surprised Chris Pash was standing as he isn’t active in the union. This is confirmed with Pash saying his candidacy isn’t serious but a ‘protest’ against MEAA taking a democratic decision to endorse @adele_ferguson to represent us on the Copyright Agency.”

Voting for MEAA Federal Council delegate positions will take place from 8 December until 19 January.

There are 49 positions in total from the 4 sections of MEA, with a spokesperson telling Mumbrella, “the number of nominations received are a positive sign of the high level of activism within the union”.

The media section is the largest with 21 positions on the Federal Council.

All candidates will be given an opportunity to have a short statement published on the MEAA website, as well as have it included with ballot papers, with the timing and conduct of the election is the responsibility of the Australian Electoral Commission.

The MEAA Board is made up of the federal president and 13 other senior members from the various industries represented by the union.

Board members include: Federal president Simon Collins, federal president (Media), Marcus Strom, federal president (Equity), Jason Klarwein, federal president (Musicians), Cameron Brook, federal president (ECS), Fiona Donovan, federal vice-presidents (Media), Michael Janda, Karen Percy, federal vice- presidents (Equity), Abbe Holmes, Tiffany Lyndall-Knight, federal VP (ECS/Musicians), Rosemary Westmore, NSW branch board member, Camilla Ah Kin, Victoria branch board member, Caleb Cluff, Queensland Branch board member, Michael Balk and all other branches (SA/NT, TAS, ACT and WA) board member, Martin Saxon.

Copyright Agency board members include: Chair, Dr Kate Harrison, and director’s Jason Eades, Richard Eccles, Arthur Baker, Cath Godfrey, Kirsty Murray, Anne Maria Nicholson, Dr Oliver Watts, Jane Curry, and Adele Ferguson.

* This story has been updated from its original version.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.