MFA re-elects Peter Horgan as chair; Virginia Hyland to take on deputy role

Industry body Media Federation of Australia (MFA) has re-appointed Omnicom Media Group (OMG) CEO Peter Horgan as its chair and named Havas Media Group CEO Virginia Hyland as deputy chair.

Hyland will replace non-executive director Megan Brownlow, who stepped down from the deputy chair position but will remain on the board. Hogan, meanwhile, was re-elected for another two-year term.

Chief operating officer of Match & Wood, Chris O’Keefe, was also re-appointed as one of two independent media agency board directors.

MFA CEO, Sophie Madden, said: “As an industry we’ve never been stronger and that comes down to the work of the MFA Board, all of whom are active and engaged, and dedicated to making the media agency industry better at what we do for our clients and our people.

“Congratulations to Peter Horgan, Virginia Hyland and Chris O’Keefe on their election by their peers, and thank you to Megan Brownlow for her exceptional service as deputy chair over the past eight years. We are pleased she will continue to provide her experienced and objective guidance as a non-executive director.”

Hogan added: “2022 was a very productive year for the MFA with the creation of our industry purpose ‘We Are The Changers’; the launch of our industry-wide diversity, equity and inclusion strategy, Media For All; and bringing the industry back together at MFA EX.”

Hyland said: “I’ve been a passionate supporter of the MFA as an independent agency and then now as CEO of Havas Media.

“It’s a wonderful honour to be voted by my talented peers into the Deputy Chair position, and I’m committed to evolving our opportunity as a great industry.”

Speaking on Mumbrellacast last month, Madden spokes of the industry challenges ahead in 2023. While staffing up and churn are in decline in media agencies, she said, competition for experienced talent remains fierce.

Listen to the full interview here:

Full MFA board:

Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA

Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair

Virginia Hyland, CEO, Havas Media Group – Deputy Chair

Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director

Aimee Buchanan, CEO, GroupM ANZ

Imogen Hewitt, CEO, Spark Foundry

Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia

Melissa Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia

Peter Vogel, CEO, Wavemaker ANZ

Michael Rebelo, CEO, Publicis Groupe ANZ

Danny Bass, CEO, Dentsu Media ANZ

Jimmy Hyett, CEO & Founder, This Is Flow

Chris O’Keefe, COO & Founder, Match & Wood

Mark Jarrett, CEO, PHD Australia


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.