The Mumbrella Awards 2016 launches call for entries with seven new categories, new criteria on diversity and a gender balanced jury

Australia’s most prestigious and hardest-to-win industry awards, The Mumbrella Awards, is today launching the 2016 call for entries.

mumbrella awards 2016 logo

This year the awards includes seven new categories:

  • Best Use of User Experience
  • Social Idea of the Year
  • Best Use of Real-Time Marketing
  • Full-Service Agency of the Year
  • The Mumbrella Award for Collaboration
  • Sales Team of the Year – technology solutions
  • Industry Leader of the Year

The awards now also include specific criteria around diversity, while the panel of judges will be 50% male and 50% female – believed to be a first for an industry awards show.

The judging panel features many of Australia’s top marketers and agency and media identities, with many categories featuring their expertise in the final rounds of face-to-face judging.

New categories have been included to reflect the changing nature of the media and marketing industries, with agencies increasingly being asked to work together, marketers placing more value on social media channels and more agencies looking to offer creative and media services to clients.

The Best Use of User Experience will also recognise the often hidden work many agencies do in delivering value and ease of use for consumers in online or physical environments.

The awards return to The Star, Sydney in 2016

The awards return to The Star, Sydney in 2016

Meanwhile, Industry Leader of the Year will recognise an individual who has worked to help the interests of not just their own company but also the wider industry.

This year, the Direct Agency of the Year award has been merged into the Specialist Agency of the Year category, whilst the Promo and Experiential Agency of the Year categories have been merged.

The judging period covers the 12 months to Friday, April 5, 2016.

Once again, all entries are to be registered online, with a closing date of Friday, April 5. Late entries (with an additional fee) will be accepted until April 13.

The awards will take place at The Star, Sydney, on Thursday, June 30.

For full details and criteria see the Call for Entries document here.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.