Nine tops Kennedy Awards winners with Hendo recognised for lifetime achievement

Nine has taken home the most trophies from Friday night’s Kennedy Awards recognising journalism in NSW.

The event also saw retired Nine News presenter Brian Henderson recognised with a lifetime achievement award.

Of the 35 awards, 11 went to Nine, eight went to the ABC and eight to News Corp.

Seven picked up two awards, as did Australian Community Media’s Newcastle Herald.

Ten was the only major TV network to leave empty handed.

Collecting his award, Henderson, who retired in 2002, said: “I am honoured and I am flattered, after 47 years in a job that I love doing and which gave me so much, to be acknowledged in this way tops it all off.”

Among the key categories, the ABC’s Anne Connolly was recognised as journalist of the year for her investigation which is widely credited as having sparked the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

Winners list:

1 Les Kennedy Award – Outstanding Crime Reporting

Sean Rubinsztein-Dunlop, Lesley Robinson and Suzanne Dredge (Four Corners, ABC Investigations);

2 The Paul Lockyer Award – Outstanding Regional Broadcast Reporting

ABC Television News Team

3 The Chris Watson Award – Outstanding Regional Newspaper Reporting 

Joanne McCarthy (The Newcastle Herald)

4 The Rod Allen Award – Racing Writer of the Year

Chris Roots (Sydney Morning Herald)

5 Outstanding Turf Reporting

Ray Thomas (The Daily Telegraph)

6 Sean Flannery Award – Outstanding Radio Journalism

Osman Faruqi, Alex Mann (ABC Background Briefing)

7 Outstanding Podcast

Greg Bearup, Eric George, Nicholas Adams-Dzierzba (“Who the Hell is Hamish” The Australian)

8 Outstanding News Photo

Stephen Cook (Diimex)

9 Outstanding Portrait

Phil Hillyard (The Daily Telegraph)

10 Outstanding Sports Photo

Simon Bullard (AAP)

11 Outstanding Online Video

“The Lady Vanishes” – Bryan Seymour, Alison Sandy, Sally Eeles, Paul Walker (7

12 Power of the Lens – The People’s Choice Award

Nick Moir(Sydney Morning Herald)

13 Vince O’Farrell Award – Outstanding Illustration

Jon Kudelka (The Australian)

14 The Cliff Neville Award – Outstanding Team Player

Ian Fuge (The Sydney Morning Herald)

15 Outstanding Sport Reporting

Jamie Pandaram (The Daily Telegraph)

16 Young Journalist of the Year

Angela McCormack (Triple J Hack)

17 Outstanding Travel Writing

Catherine Marshall (Sydney Morning Herald)

18 Lifetime Achievement Award

Brian Henderson

19 John Newfong Award – Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting

Lorena Allam (The Guardian Australia)

20 Gary Ticehurst Award – Outstanding TV News Camera Coverage

James Cannon (7 News)

21 Harry Potter Award – Outstanding Television News Reporting

Hannah Sinclair (Nine News)

22 Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting Long Form

Anne Connolly, Mary Fallon, Patricia Drum (Four Corners ABC-TV)

23 The Mike Willesee Award – Outstanding Nightly Current Affairs

Adele Ferguson, Chris Gillett (7.30 ABC-TV)

24 The Peter Ruehl Award – Outstanding Columnist

Sharri Markson (The Daily Telegraph)

25 Outstanding Finance Reporting

Jonathan Shapiro, Angus Grigg, Lisa Murray (The Australian Financial Review)

26 Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting

Liam Bartlett, Joel Tozer (60 Minutes, Nine)

27 Outstanding Online News Breaking

John Lyons, Lorna Knowles, Elise Worthington, Clare Blumer (ABC News)

28 Outstanding Court Reporting

Sam Rigney (The Newcastle Herald)

29 Outstanding Reporting on the Environment

Jack Morphet (The Sunday Telegraph)

30 Rebecca Wilson Award – Scoop of the Year

Danny Weidler (Nine News)

31 Outstanding Investigative Reporting

Peter Charley (Al Jazeera)

32 The Jim Oram Award -Outstanding Feature Writing

Amanda Hooton (The Good Weekend);

33 Outstanding Foreign Correspondent

James Massola (The Sydney Morning Herald);

34 Outstanding Political Reporting

Sky News Australia;

35 Journalist of the Year

Anne Connolly (ABC Investigations)


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.