NRMA renews sponsorship of NRMA Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism

The Kennedy Foundation, Australia’s media charity, has announced the renewal of NRMA’s sponsorship for its NRMA Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The announcement:

NRMA renews historic partnership with the Kennedy Foundation

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Australia’s media charity, the Kennedy Foundation, is proud to announce that NRMA is renewing its ground-breaking sponsorship of the NRMA Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism for another three years.

The partnership milestone, which follows the NRMA’s original generous three-year sponsorship of the Kennedy Awards forged in 2014, will take the organisation’s support into a bold new era, 2020, the ninth year of the awards.

Announcing the NRMA’s renewed commitment to the Kennedy Foundation and the Kennedy Awards, foundation chairman Simon Dulhunty thanked the organisation for its ongoing support.

“The Kennedy Foundation which stages the annual Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism is delighted that the NRMA is again supporting the foundation and the awards as they head towards the next decade,” Mr Dulhunty said.

“Our original three-year partnership with the NRMA was the first overarching sponsorship since the Kennedy Awards were launched in 2012 and played a major role in helping the establishment of the Kennedy Foundation as an official charity working to support media professionals facing hardship.

“Since then the Kennedy Awards have gone from strength to strength attracting quality entries and finalists representing electronic and print media organisation’s with national reach and coverage.

“We welcome the NRMA’s continued commitment to the foundation, support which has helped consolidate our work as a charity and provided a significant boost for the annual awards.”

NRMA Head of Media Peter Khoury said the partnership between the two organisations was fitting, as both shared similar community values.

“For an organisation built almost 100 years ago as a voice for its Members and the community, partnering with the Kennedy Foundation to celebrate outstanding journalism was a no-brainer, because our two brands are committed to the same values,” Mr Khoury said.

“This Foundation and its members are providing life-changing support to those of their media colleagues and their families who have fallen on hard times. This crucial work is worthy of support, which is why the NRMA stands with the Kennedy Foundation.

“More than ever before we need strong, independent and healthy journalism and being part of a celebration of these values remains important to the NRMA.”
The NRMA Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism, named in honour of legendary Sydney crime reporter Les Kennedy who died aged 53 years in 2011, continue to recognise the finest media professionals and those who have put so much back into the industry.
The awards are supported by the Kennedy Foundation, a registered charity to administer a benevolent fund for media professionals facing hardship as well as to other charitable organisations.
NB: Entries will be officially open for the 2017 NRMA Kennedy Awards, including the $25,000 prize for the Coca Cola Australian Journalist of the Year, on May 18.

From May 18, entries for work in the current financial year must be submitted to kennedyawardsjudging@gmail.com by close of business July 1.

Entry is $40 for every unrelated item of work and $40 for a series of related stories (maximum five). The finalists in all 33 competitive categories will be announced on Wednesday, July 26, with the Power of the Lens’ finalists announced on Thursday, July 27.

Gala ticket purchases for the August 11 awards can be completed via our home page at www.kennedyawards.com

Source: Media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.