Peter Horgan, Megan Brownlow reappointed as MFA Chair and Deputy Chair

The Media Federation of Australia has announced the reappointment of Omnicom Media Group Australia CEO Peter Horgan and media and marketing industry expert Megan Brownlow as Chair and Deputy Chair respectively following a board vote at the annual general meeting.

Horgan and Brownlow will serve another two years on the MFA board

Mindshare Australasia CEO Katie Rigg-Smith and GroupM ANZ CEO Mark Lollback were also reappointed.

The quartet will serve a further two years on the MFA board.

Chris O’Keefe, the managing partner of independent media agency Match & Wood was announced as a new board member joining This Is Flow CEO and founder Jimmy Hyett as the second independent representative.

O’Keefe joins the MFA board

O’Keefe replaces Bohemia Group CEO Brett Dawson, who is stepping down after six years on the board.

“I’m passionate about the work that media agencies do and I want to see the industry and our people flourish,” he said. “A seat on the MFA Board is a great way to affect change on a larger scale. I look forward to working with my fellow board members to continue to elevate the perception of media agencies, to increase trust, and to ensure we are valued for our specialised skills – not just by CMOs, but also CEOs and CFOs.”

MFA CEO Sophie Madden said that despite the challenges of 2020, she felt the MFA had made significant achievements.

“In my view, the MFA board is one of the hardest working at the best of times, and as we all know 2020 has been particularly challenging,” she said. “Among our proudest achievements this year were the launch of MFA Support, a program supporting media agency professionals who lost their job due to the COVID-19 pandemic; the expansion of our e-learning programs; and important industry collaborations, such as the Australian Digital Advertising Practices with the AANA and IAB and the AILA programs with the Advertising Council Australia.”

The full board of the MFA comprises:

Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA
Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair
Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director – Deputy Chair
Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia
Mark Lollback, CEO, GroupM ANZ
Michael Rebelo, CEO, Publicis Groupe ANZ
Imogen Hewitt, CEO, Spark Foundry
Katie Rigg-Smith, CEO, Mindshare Australia
Mel Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia
Sue Squillace, CEO, Carat ANZ
Aimee Buchanan, CEO, OMD
Jimmy Hyett, Managing Director & Founder, This Is Flow
Chris O’Keefe, Managing Partner, Match & Wood


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.