Publish Awards celebrates 21st year with five new categories

Entries have opened for the Publish Awards, the publishing industry’s longest-running publishing awards program.

With a total of 28 categories, five new awards have been added to the mix including Columnist of the Year, Best E-Commerce Strategy, the Publish Award for Innovation, Brand of the Year and Branded Content Studio of the Year.

The Columnist of the Year award is open to journalists and writers involved in comment and analysis and includes leader writers, reviewers, opinion columnists and bloggers writing for consumer, custom or business publications, while the Best E-Commerce Strategy award recognises the best use of e-commerce to drive additional revenue to a publisher that matches the brand’s editorial content.

Another new category is the Publish Award for Innovation which seeks to recognise initiatives, technology or products that have benefited a publisher or the wider industry in the past 12 months.

The Brand of the Year will reward Australia’s best-performing and strongest media masthead. Drawn from any medium, the winner will be recognised for achieving commercial success within its sector during the year in question, backed with quality of product, impact on the market and innovation.

The final new category added to the Publish Awards is Branded Content Studio of the Year which aims to recognise a publisher that offers its advertisers an excellent platform to connect with an audience through native content, branded content, branded entertainment or branded events.

Last year’s awards saw almost 300 entries submitted and winners included BuzzFeed, which was named Website of the Year (consumer/custom), Qantas Magazine National Sales Team named Sales Team of the Year,  Mamamia Women’s Networks’ Kylie Rogers named Publish Executive of the Year, and News Corp’s The Australian picked up the Best Podcast award for Bowraville.

Kylie Rogers was named Publish Executive of the Year at the 2016 Publish Awards

Celebrating the best in consumer, business-to-business and custom publishing across print and digital, the Publish Awards will once again will be judged by a panel of leading publishing, advertising and media executives.

Now in its 21st year, the Publish Awards began life as magazine industry body Publishers Australia Bell Awards, before being renamed the Excellence Awards and then the Publish Awards last year.

The period being assessed is the 12 months to July 21, 2017.

The closing date for entries is Friday July 21. 

For entry criteria and details on how to enter, click here.

Meanwhile, Mumbrella’s Publish conference is back on October 19, 2017 for its fourth year exploring the major issues impacting the magazine, newspaper and digital publishing industry, with the focus extended to include content marketing.

This year’s event is set to be curated by long-time Mumbrella collaborator Paul Dovas, founder of technology and data science consultancy Dovas Digital. Dovas is also a former boss of the Audited Media Association of Australia.

Publish 2017 will unravel the commercial challenges of the publishing industry and is aimed at both B2B and consumer publications.

To submit an idea for Publish for a speaker or a session, click here.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.