Ten and Paramount+ A-League schedule released ahead of revised season kick-off

The A-League’s new start date has been confirmed, with the Australian Professional Leagues revealing the new season will now begin on 19 November instead of the originally slated 30 October.

The first six rounds of the A-League, and first four rounds of the W-League (kicking off 3 December) have also dropped, with both leagues to air entirely on Network Ten and Paramount+ for the first time.

The delayed start has been revealed in keeping with the Federal Government’s national COVID-19 transition plan, within which current border restrictions are expected to ease by the turn of the year.

As a result, the first lot of fixtures will take place based on a conference system, with the five NSW clubs and the Wellington Phoenix playing each other in NSW, while the other conference and remaining teams will play the majority of games in Victoria.

In May, Network Ten parent company ViacomCBS signed a five-year deal with the APL, to broadcast both the A-League and W-League across its free-to-air channels and also new streaming service Paramount+.

The APL and ViacomCBS have now revealed that two Saturday night fixtures will take every week, airing simultaneously on Paramount+, with one match available free-to-air on Network Ten and 10 Play.

Network Ten director of sport production, Adam Cush, said: “These double game Saturday nights are part of 10 ViacomCBS’ fans first approach to broadcasting football in Australia. 

“It’s an innovation that we believe will give football fans more bang for their buck by showcasing two games on free-to-air and every game live on Paramount+.”

Ten football commentator, Simon Hill, said: “Two Saturday night, prime-time A-League games with simultaneous kick-offs will be football heaven – it’s something fans have wanted for a long time.   

“Plus, imagine a final weekend scenario where two or more clubs are battling it out for finals or the Premiership?”

As previously announced, one W-League game each week will be available free-to-air on 10 Bold and 10 Play each Sunday.

APL managing director, Danny Townsend, said: “This year we’ve got more teams, more games and more football than ever before, and fans are going to get double the action on Network 10.”

This season will also see an inaugural Club Championship awarded to the club with success across both the men’s and women’s leagues.

2020/21 A-League Premiers Melbourne City

Leagues commissioner, Greg O’Rourke, added: “We’ve got more football than ever before, with both an expanded finals series and the addition of Wellington Phoenix to the women’s league.

“We’ve already seen some incredible young talent coming through the League and on to the Olympics, and with those players now more established, we are going to see even more great football stories.

“Importantly, together with Network 10, we’re going to be able to bring fans closer to the action than ever before as we enter a new era for football in Australia.”

The A-League Grand Final is scheduled to take place on 28 May to end the season.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.