Ten loses Formula One TV rights to Foxtel, keeps Australian Grand Prix

Network Ten has lost the rights to all but one of the Formula One races to Foxtel and Fox Sports.

Aside from the Australian Grand Prix, which will remain on Ten for at least two years, Fox Sports now has the exclusive rights to every Formula One race, including the Monaco Grand Prix and British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

In 2015, Fox Sports signed a five year deal to share the F1 broadcast rights with Ten.

The original contract gave Ten the rights to ten out of 21 races, while the new changes mean the free-to-air network will only retain the rights to one: the Australian Grand Prix, which is protected by Australia’s anti-siphoning laws.

Ten had originally been scheduled to broadcast this weekend’s Malaysian Grand Prix, along with the Mexican Grand Prix and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix season finale.

The new deal will take effect this weekend, with the Foxtel website now claiming the Malaysian Grand Prix “will only be on FOX Sports on Sunday October 1.”

Network Ten CEO Paul Anderson, said: “The Australian Grand Prix is an iconic sporting event and we are delighted that it will remain on Ten.

“Network Ten remains the free-to-air television home of motorsport. Our line-up includes the Supercars Championship, including the Supercars Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, the MotoGP World Championship and the motorsport destination show RPM.”

According to Ten, highlights from every international Formula One race will broadcast on One the Monday night following each race.

The highlights from this weekend’s Malaysian Grand Prix will broadcast on Monday 2 October at 10.45pm on One.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.