Tim Harding takes out the top spot at AWARD school

The Communications Council’s Melbourne AWARD school graduated 51 of its students this week, with Tim Harding receiving the award for top student.  

The announcement:

Melbourne’s AWARD School students celebrated their end of studies yesterday at SmartArtz Gallery in South Melbourne. 51 students and their guests celebrated at this year’s graduation.

Hosted by AWARD School heads Jay Hynes and David Ponce de Leon, the evening was an opportunity for the industry’s finest creatives, students, sponsors and media to gather and enjoy the best selection of student work.

The award for top AWARD School student was taken out by Tim Harding, who will now go forward to National and NZ judging against each top state student across Australasia.

Second place went to Jason Deacon while Gary Simm was in third place.

These students, along with the remaining top 10; James Worthington, Carmel Gohar, Kate Bowman, Grant Carter, Chris Hanrahan, Nicole Scherer, Chantal Whineray will receive a place in AWARD Craft – a one-week creative skills course taught by successful creatives.

The top 11-20 AWARD students will receive a place in the AWARD Mentor program.

Two other prizes were presented on the night. CI Studios selected three pieces of student work to photograph and produce. The Winners of this generous prize were Grant Carter, Carmel Gohar and Gary Simm. Warner Bros presented a Classic Collection of Warner Bros movies to Jason Deacon for his winning of the Warner Bros Clip Library brief.

David Ponce de Leon thanked the students, lecturers, tutors and judges for their commitment to AWARD school and said:

“AWARD School has been running for over 20 years and we are delighted to have several past winners here. The record attendance tonight is testament to the fact that this has been a great year for AWARD School Melbourne, which would not be possible without the massive commitment from all the lecturers, tutors, judges, agencies and of course the students.”

Daniel Leesong, CEO The Communications Council, said “I’d like to thank the AWARD School Melbourne heads Jay Hynes and David Ponce de Leon, tutors and judges for their hard work in fostering and guiding the next creative generation. Students can be proud of their achievements with some exceptionally creative ideas contained in their extensive portfolios.”

For further information, including registration for the 2011 program, contact

Audrey Maxwell on Audrey@communicationscouncil.org.au.

Source: The Communications Council press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.