Tracey Spicer and Village Roadshow’s Graham Burke among Australia Day gong winners

Journalist Tracey Spicer, Village Roadshow CEO Graham Burke, media owner Janet Grant and broadcasting boss Angelo Frangopoulos are among the media figures honoured in this year’s Australia Day awards list.

This year saw 895 awards given with seven going to media figures. No-one from the advertising and marketing industries appeared on this year’s list.

Journalist Tracey Spicer wins a Order of Australia, Member, for services to broadcast media

Spicer, who has been leading the campaign against sexual harassment in the Australian media industry was named a member of the Order of Australia for “significant service to the broadcast media as a journalist and television presenter, and as an ambassador for social welfare and charitable groups.”

Frangopoulos, head of Sky News owner Australian News Channel, was also named a member of the Order of Australia for “significant service to the broadcast media sector, to higher education and the promotion of journalistic standards, and to the community.”

Village Roadshow boss Graham Burke won an Officer of the Order of Australia award for “distinguished service to film production, marketing, exhibition and distribution, to the broadcast media industry, to the leisure and recreation sector, and to the community.”

Managing Director of family owned regional broadcasting network Grant Broadcasters, Janet Cameron, received a Medal of the Order of Australia for service to broadcast media.

Other media figures winning awards included sports broadcaster Liz Ellis, 82 year old former Bendigo Advertiser cartoonist Ian Glanville, and retired ABC journalist Tim Holt.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.