Transmission dominates at St Kilda Short Film Festival

Post-apocalyptic short film Transmission dominated the St Kilda Film Festival Awards last night.

The short drama, about a deadly pandemic and its impact on a father-daughter relationship, won top prize of Best Short Film at the awards plus a $10,000 cash prize.

Of the nominees in the Best Short Film category, Transmission beat out Anthony Maras’s The Palace, Peekaboo directed by Damien Power and At The Formal directed by Andrew Kavanagh.

Produced by Liz Kearney and written and directed by Zak Hilditch it was a big night for Transmission with Hilditch winning Best Director and Angourie Rice who plays the daughter winning Best Actor while editor Merlin Cornish won Best Achievement in Editing.

The film was one of three recipients of Screen Australia’s 2011 Springboard Short Film Course. The course mentors creative duos to produce a short film which will be the grounding for a feature film idea.

The win and cash prize will help the duo on the related feature These Final Hours about a young man who is making his way to a party on the last day of the earth but ends up saving the life of a little girl searching for her father.

The feature has already received funding from Western Australia’s state film agency ScreenWest, investing $750,000 as part of the West Coast Visions initiative as well as from Screen Australia in December.

Transmission was also selected at this year’s Tribeca Film Festival in New York.

St Kilda Short Film Awards winners list:

Best Short Film
Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch / Prod. Liz Kearney

Craft Award
Winner: Into the Sun – Dir. Amy Gebhardt / Prod. Allison Lockwood
Commendation: Ten Quintillion – Dir. Romilly Spiers / Prod. Romilly Spiers, Daniel Gregg

Best Director
Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking
Yapawarnti Palu Rijikarrijani – Dir. Kai Raisbeck / Prod. Kai Raisbeck

Best Documentary
The Globe Collector – Dir. Summer DeRoche / Prod. Andrea Distefano

Best Animation
The Missing Key – Dir. Jonathan Nix /Prod. Garth Nix

Best Comedy
Boo! – Dir. Rupert Reid / Prod. Matthew Reeder

Best Actor
Angourie Rice – Transmission

Best Achievement in Screenplay
After the Credits – Josh Lawson

Best Achievement in Cinematography
Paper Planes – Nick Matthews ACS

Best Achievement in Editing
Transmission – Merlin Cornish

Best Achievement in Visual Effects
Light as a Feather – David McDonnell

Best Achievement in Production Design
Cryo – Karen Murphy

Best Original Score
The Missing Key – Miles Nicholas, Jonathan Nix, Kathryn Brownhill

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production
Nullarbor – Matt Bauer

Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film
The Trouble with Alexander – Directed and Produced by Blake Borcich

SBS Award Winner
THE WILDING, directed by Grant Scicluna and produced by Jannine Barnes.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing