Australian Survivor to return July 24

Ten has revealed the premiere date of the fourth season of Australian Survivor. The show will return to screens on July 24, hosted again by Jonathan La Paglia.

It will also repeat the Champions vs Contenders format of 2018 which saw swimmer Shane Gould take the crown.

Ten has announced three new Champions to the line up over the last few weeks. Former politician and Olympian Nova Peris, who was the first Aboriginal Australian to win an Olympic gold medal, will be joining the line up.

Nova Peris. Photo – Nigel Wright

Australian surfer Ross Clarke-Jones has also been named by Ten, as has AFL star Simon Black. Black had long been rumoured to be joining the cast after he missed his own induction into the Australian Football Hall of Fame for a “long-standing overseas commitment”.

The three join previously announced castmates Andrew Ettingshausen, Steven Bradbury, Susie Maroney and Janine Allis. So far Sarah Ayles, John Eastoe and Matt Farrelly have been named for the Contenders side.

Simon Black. Photo – Nigel Wright

Reports are swirling online that actor Pia Miranda will also join the cast, after she was allegedly spotted by eagle-eyed viewers in the original promo which aired, and AFLW player Abbey Holmes.

Ten first aired the latest version of Survivor in 2016, with 1.082m viewers tuning in to watch the final episode which saw Kristie Bennett win the crown. The final episode of Australian Survivor Champions vs Contenders for 2018 drew 877,000 metro viewers.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.