AWARD School Sydney commends top 10 grads

The AWARD School graduation ceremony at The Loft in Sydney recognised its top 10 graduates.

The announcement:

Close to 300 industry professionals, sponsors, and graduates attended the AWARD School Graduation ceremony at The Loft in Sydney last night to celebrate some of Australia’s freshest new creative talent.

The top 10 graduates from the 2013 class of 100 students were announced at the Google-sponsored event, where Dane Van Veen was awarded top student, followed by Patrick Allenby who took second, and Nick Cole in third. The remaining top ten students, in no particular order, include:

Tim Batterham
Nicholas Wright
Johnnie Crawford
Matthew Faint
Serge Ozegovic
Jessica Waal
Elliott White

Communications Council Board member and AWARD Chairman, Mark Harricks (Executive Creative Director at JWT Sydney), welcomed the crowd in a speech that reflected upon his own experience during and beyond the AWARD School program. While arming the young creatives for the rejection they will face throughout their careers, he proposed that it is rejection which will encourage their creativity.

Speaking on behalf of the NSW AWARD School Heads (John Hawkins and Hamish Grieve), Hamish Grieve congratulated the 2013 students on their work and achievements before presenting the top ten students with their certificates and offering thanks to all of the 2013 AWARD tutors for their commitment and enthusiasm throughout the 16 week course.

Mark Harricks, AWARD Chairman, said: “For many of our students, this program will be the first step towards the right career path, and we hope that this is only the beginning of an ongoing relationship between the graduates and AWARD throughout those careers. Now more than ever it is important that we create a strong community of young creatives. We have seen some incredible talent showcased here this year, and it is wonderful to see those achievements celebrated.”

AWARD graduation ceremonies are still set to take place in Adelaide, Perth and Hobart this month. Dates for the upcoming ceremonies are as follows:

Hobart – Thursday 15th August
Perth – Wednesday 28th August
Adelaide – Contact Tesha

The AWARD School program has now been running for 30 years; the 2013 graduates follow in the footsteps of many of today’s creative leaders, including past students: Craig Davis, ex-Chairman of AWARD and Co-Chairman & Chief Creative Officer of Publicis Mojo, David Droga, Founder and Creative Chairman of Droga5, and Matt Eastwood, Chief Creative Officer at DDB New York.

The graduations welcome attendees from across the industry. To buy tickets for any of the upcoming ceremonies, please contact Tesha Jones: tesha@communicationscouncil.org.au.

Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 22.50.14

Source: The Communications Council press release.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing