Brands come on board for ARIA awards

Telstra, Pepsi and Swarovski are among the sponsors of this year’s ARIA awards with nominations set to be revealed next week on the same evening as the first winners are announced in a range of categories.

Awards will be handed out next Tuesday in the fine arts, artisan and best comedy categories ahead of the main ARIA Awards evening to be held at The Star on November 28.

Nine will broadcast the awards having been a mainstay of Ten’s schedule for several years

The nominations event will take place at The National Art Gallery in Sydney.

Awards handed out at the event will include Best Classical Album, Best Jazz Album, Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album, Best World Music Album, Producer Of The Year, Engineer of the Year, Best Cover Art and Best Comedy.

ARIA chief executive Dan Rosen said: “ARIA is thrilled to announce that Sydney and The Star will again host the flagship event of the Australian music calendar – the 31st Annual ARIA Awards.

“We would also like to welcome Swarovski, the Nine Network and returning partners PepsiMax, Telstra, PPCA and the NSW Government, through Destination NSW, for their passionate support.

“We look forward to working closely with these world-class brands in 2017 as we celebrate a remarkable year in Australian music.”

Telstra has come on board as the events technology partner and is involved in the Music Teacher of the Year category.

Fine arts, artisan and best comedy nominations

Best Cover Art

Lee McConnell for Dune Rats “The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit”   (Ratbag Records)
Nathan Cahyadi for Gang Of Youths ”Go Farther In Lightness”  (Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Nick McKinlay for Julia Jacklin “Don’t Let The Kids Win” (Liberation Music)
Mitchell Storck for Midnight Oil “The Overflow Tank”(Sony Music)
Peter Salmon-Lomas for Paul Kelly “Life Is Fine” (EMI)

Engineer Of The Year   

Oliver Hugh Perry & Fabian Prynn for D.D Dumbo  “Utopia Defeated”  (Liberation Music)
John Castle for Dean Lewis “Lose My Mind” (Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)
Adrian Breakspear for Gang Of Youths “Go Farther In Lightness” (Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Bob Scott for Kate Miller-Heidke & Sydney Symphony Orchestra “Live at the Sydney Opera House” (ABC Music/Universal Music)
Steven Schram for Paul Kelly ”Life Is Fine” (EMI)

Producer Of The Year

Daniel Rankine for A.B. Original “Reclaim Australia”  (Golden Era Records/UMA)
Tom Iansek for Big Scary “Animal” (Pieater/Inertia)
Oliver Hugh Perry & Fabian Prynn for D.D Dumbo  “Utopia Defeated” (Liberation Music)
Gang Of Youths and Adrian Breakspear for Gang Of Youths “Go Farther In Lightness”(Mosy Recordings/Sony Music)
Steven Schram for Paul Kelly   “Life Is Fine” (EMI)

Best Classical Album

Grigoryan Brothers “Songs Without Words” (ABC Classics/Universal)
Jayson Gillham, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra & Benjamin Northey  “Medtner: Piano Concerto No. 1 | Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Kate Miller-Heidke & Sydney Symphony Orchestra “Live at the Sydney Opera House” (ABC Music/Universal Music)
Slava Grigoryan “Bach: Cello Suites Volume I” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Tamara-Anna Cislowska “Elena Kats-Chernin: Unsent Love Letters – Meditations on Erik Satie” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Best Jazz Album

Australian Art Orchestra “Water Pushes Sand” Jazzhead (Head Records)
James Morrison & James Morrison Academy Jazz Orchestra “James Morrison With His Academy Jazz Orchestra”  (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)
James Morrison, BBC Concert Orchestra, Keith Lockhart, Harry Morrison & William Morrison “The Great American Songbook” (ABC Jazz/Universal Music)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard ”Sketches Of Brunswick East” (FLIGHTLESS/Inertia)
The Vampires “The Vampires meet Lionel Loueke” (Earshift / Planet)

Best Original Soundtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album

Australian Cast Recording feat. David Campbell “Dream Lover”  (Sony Music)
Cezary Skubiszewski “Red Dog: True Blue OST” (Decca Records/Universal Music Australia)
Jessica Mauboy “The Secret Daughter (Songs from the Original TV Series)” (Sony Music)
Nigel Westlake & Sydney Symphony Orchestra, with Joseph Tawadros, Slava Grigoryan & Lior “Ali’s Wedding” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Richard Tognetti & Australian Chamber Orchestra “Mountain” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)

Best World Music Album

Joseph Tawadros “Live at Abbey Road” (Independent/Planet)
Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp “Songs of the Latin Skies” (KIN Music/Universal Music)
Melbourne Ska Orchestra “Saturn Return”(ABC Music / Universal)
Slava Grigoryan & Australian String Quartet “Migration” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Xylouris White “Black Peak” (Caroline Australia)

Best Comedy Release 

Arj Barker  “Get In My Head” (Universal Pictures Australasia / Universal Sony Pictures Home Entertainment)
Buddy Goode “More Rubbish” (ABC Music / Universal)
John Clarke “Clarke’s Classics” (ABC Classics/Universal Music)
Kitty Flanagan ”Seriously?” (Universal Pictures Australasia / Universal Sony Pictures Home Entertainment)
Rhys Nicholson  “Rhys Nicholson Live at The Eternity Playhouse” (Century Entertainme


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.