Digital work added to ADG Awards

The Australian Directors Guild Awards have incorporated six new categories, including three for digital work.

The new categories are, for traditional formats, documentary features, children’s TV and TV reality/light entertainment; the digital categories recognise interactive branded entertainment, cross-platform interactive and original online programs.

“Directors are in the business of telling stories on screen in the traditional areas and, increasingly, via new delivery platforms. Our members’ work is reaching audiences on screens large and small, from cinema to mobile phone, through games and on your TV,” said ADG president Ray Argall.

This year’s event will include the following categories:

1.         Feature

2.         Telemovie

3.         Television mini series

4.         Documentary feature

5.         Documentary stand alone

6.         Documentary series

7.         Short

8.         Television drama series

9.         TV drama serial

10.        Television comedy

11.        Television children’s

12.        TV reality / light entertainment

13.        Animation

14.        TVC

15.        Interactive Branded Entertainment

16.        Cross Platform Interactive

17.        Original Online Programs

16.        Music Video

17.        Student

18.        GRASS – green awareness encouragement award

The eligibility period has also been extended from 12 to 18 months, and now includes works that screened from January 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010.

Entries close on July 5.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.