Four new directors appointed to AANA to board

The Australian Association of National Advertisers has appointed four new directors to its board

The announcement:

The AANA today announced the appointment of four new Directors to the AANA Board. They are:

 Andrew Caie, General Manager, Marketing Subaru Australia

 Andrea Martens, Vice President Marketing & Managing Director, Home and Personal Care, Unilever Australia and New Zealand

 Bronwyn Powell, Senior Director of Marketing McDonald’s Australia and

 John Steedman, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, GroupM Australia.

Ms Inese Kingsmill, Chair of the AANA, said she was delighted to welcome such high-calibre talent to the AANA Board.

“Under Sunita Gloster’s leadership, and the support of the Board, the AANA has strengthened across all three of our strategic pillars. As the respected voice for brands our charter to promote responsible, innovative and respectable marketing has had significant renewal,’ Ms Kingsmill said.

“Of note, we’ve made great strides in elevating the profession of marketing. Securing in-depth editorial coverage in mainstream business media for the Global Marketers’ Conference and more recent initiatives like Marketing Dividends, presented by AANA on Sky Business have helped shine a light on how marketing contributes to business and economic growth’’

“As a consequence of this sustained focus, both the depth and the breadth of our membership have grown significantly and we have leading brands from virtually every market segment represented in our membership. I am delighted to welcome our new Board members,” Ms Kingsmill said.

These new Members join existing Board members:

 Mike Connaghan, CEO, STW Group Ltd and

 Jeremy Griffith, Corporate Affairs Director, Carlton United Breweries

 Therese Kallie, Director of Communications & Marketing Services, Nestlé

 Inese Kingsmill, Director Corporate Marketing, Telstra, Chair AANA

 Mark Reinke, Group Executive Customer, Data and Marketing, Suncorp Group and Treasurer of the

 David Scribner, Head of Virgin Mobile Australia

 Matt Tapper, National Marketing Director, Lion and Deputy Chair of the AANA

 Adrian Weimers, Corporate Manager, Brand Communications National Marketing, Toyota

Ms Kingsmill also thanked former Directors, Simon Talbot, Rebecca Boustead, Madeleine Fitzpatrick and John Sintras, for their commitment to advancing the AANA’s strategic plan.

“All four have made a significant contribution to elevating the marketing profession and strengthening the self-regulatory system so on behalf of my fellow Board members I would like to offer my sincere congratulations and thanks,” Ms Kingsmill said.

Source: AANA press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.