Ian Alwill retires from ASB chairman role after 12 years

Ian Alwill, chairman of the Advertising Standards Bureau Board of Directors has retired after twelve years of service.

Ian Alwill ASB

The announcement:

After 12 years of dedicated service, Chairman of the Advertising Standards Bureau Board of Directors, Mr Ian Alwill, has retired.

“This retirement sees the departure of a genuine and tireless champion of advertising self-regulation,” Advertising Standards Bureau (ASB) CEO, Ms Fiona Jolly said.

Ms Jolly said with his appointment to the Board of Directors in 2004 a continual push for changes and further improvements began.

“Ian has always welcomed the input and dedication of his colleagues from all industry sectors on the Board of Directors and has encouraged and supported the work done by staff at the Bureau in managing the ever-changing playing field of advertising and marketing communication platforms,” Ms Jolly said.

“Ian’s leadership and dedication has supported the work of the Bureau in making continual improvements to ensure a world-leading complaints administration system.”

She said his vision and support of changes to the number and composition of the Advertising Standards Board in 2008 illustrates the importance he placed on strengthening the independence and diversity of the Board– ensuring the complaints system and self-regulation system would survive any challenges to its purpose.

“Ian’s work has ensured that any scrutiny of the Bureau or Board processes will result in the conclusion that we have an independent, responsive, transparent, efficient and accessible complaints system. This has also resulted in repeated conclusions by various governments that advertising self-regulation as operated by ASB is a better option than government intervention and that ASB is best placed to regulate advertising standards in Australia. ,” Ms Jolly said.

She said Mr Alwill has also supported and participated in work to engage APEC economies in developing a regional awareness of the benefits of advertising self-regulation. 

“The work in this area has meant we have developed important relationships with APEC economies and we can look forward to working with our regional partners – work that will benefit Australian industry and the communities in the APEC economies,” Ms Jolly said.

“Two other long standing Board members who have made significant contributions to the strategic direction and success of self-regulation will also finish their terms – Mr Hayden Hills and Mr John McLaren.

“John and Hayden have both voluntarily contributed over many years to the success of the ASB. Their particular contributions to stakeholder and financial management, and to governance mean ASB is well placed to face the coming challenges. Hayden and John’s contributions, wisdom and independent outlook will be missed,” Ms Jolly said.

New Directors were appointed at the ASB Annual General Meeting on 24 November 2016. Joining three continuing members – Ms Victoria Marles, Mr Andrew Caie and Mr David Scribner – are Ms Andrea Martens, Mr Matthew Hall, and Mr John Broome.

Ms Jolly said the role of the Board of Directors is to ensure the ASB meets its constitutional object of administering a self-regulatory system  to regulate advertising standards in Australia.

Source – ASB


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.