The CEO Magazine reveals 2016 Executive of the Year Awards winners

The CEO Magazine has revealed the complete winners’ list from its 2016 Executive of the Year Awards.


The announcement:

Friday 25November 2016


Last night, The CEO Magazine’s 2016 Executive of the Year Awards unveiled its deserving recipients rewarding 29 of Australia’s most outstanding executives for their professional contribution over the past year.

Hosted by Eddie McGuire for the fifth year in a row, the awards are spread across 24 categories, honouring the best in Australian business. This year, the awards welcomed two new categories; Professional Services Executive of the Year, and Sport and Recreation Executive of the Year alongside the elite awards; CIO of the Year, CFO of the Year, Chairperson of the Year, Managing Director of the Year, and the prestigious CEO of the Year.

This year’s top honour, CEO of the Year, goes to Stephen Cornelissen, group CEO of Mercy Health. Mercy Health is a not-for-profit organisation that employs over 7,000 people.

Stephen joined Mercy Health as CEO in July 2011 and in the last financial year, through his leadership, they have expanded their aged care services nationally, redeveloping current facilities, and are set to open two new facilities in Victoria.

Chris Dutton, founder and CEO of The CEO Magazine says, “Wading and choosing your way through the finalists to pick a winner proves to be so difficult every year we host these awards. The quality, excellence and ability of these leaders is outstanding. They are all deserving recipients of these awards and we congratulate all of them.”

The panel of experts who debated and ultimately decided the winners for each category were: Naomi Simson, Founder, RedBalloon; Scott Stavretis, CEO, Acquire BPO; Mark van Dyck, Managing Director APAC, Compass Group; John Karagounis, CEO, The CEO Circle; Chris Dutton, CEO, The CEO Magazine; and Daniel Di Loreto, Managing Director, The CEO Magazine.

The awards set out to acknowledge the efforts of business leaders both new and veteran, and reward those who made a notable difference in the corporate world during the 2015/2016 Financial Year.

Biographies and photos of the winners and runners up in each of the categories can be found at theceomagazine.com/press.

The 2016 Executive of the Year Awards

Job Specific Awards

CEO of the Year: Stephen Cornelissen, Group CEO, Mercy Health

CEO of the Year (runner-up): Christine Holgate, CEO, Blackmores

CEO of the Year (highly commended): Nigel Garrard, Managing Director and CEO, Orora

Managing Director of the Year: Nathan Cheong, Managing Director, BioCeuticals

Managing Director of the Year (runner-up): Karen Stocks, Managing Director, Twitter

Australia Chairperson of the Year: Tina West, Chairperson, Darkinjung Local Aboriginal Land Council

Chairperson of the Year (runner-up): Rod Douglas, Chairman, Mr Rental

CFO of the Year: Michael Harvey, COO and CFO, Australian Radio Network

CFO of the Year (runner up): Aaron Canning, CFO, Blackmores

CIO of the Year: William Confalonieri, Chief Digital Officer and CIO and Vice President, Deakin University

CIO of the Year (runner-up): Simon Raik-Allen, Chief Technical Advisor, MYOB

HR Executive of the Year: Linda Redfearn, Head of Human Resources, Blackmores

Marketing Executive of the Year: John Arnott, Executive Director (Customer), ING Direct Australia

Sales Executive of the Year: Suzy Nicoletti, Head of Online Sales, Twitter Australia

Recognition Awards

Executive Assistant of the Year: Larissa Auditore, Executive Assistant to CEO and Managing Director, Insurance and Care NSW

Not-for-profit Executive of the Year: Anne Bryce, CEO, Achieve Australia

Start-up Executive of the Year: Lincoln Easton, CEO, Progressclaim.com

Young Executive of the Year: David Rohrsheim, General Manager ANZ, UBER


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.