MFA votes PHD’s Mark Jarrett to the board and reappoints 5 directors

The Media Federation of Australia (MFA) board voted at its annual general meeting to appoint PHD Australia CEO Mark Jarrett to the board, and to re-appoint five directors for further two-year terms.

The returning directors, voted unanimously by the board, are Dentsu Media CEO Sue Squillace, IPG Mediabrands CEO Mark Coad, Initiative CEO Melissa Fein, MFA CEO Sophie Madden and This is Flow CEO Jimmy Hyett. Long-serving board director Katie Rigg-Smith, CEO of Mindshare, has stepped down from the board, while GroupM CEO, Aimee Buchanan has also re-joined the board,

PHD Australia CEO Mark Jarrett (pictured)

Mark Jarrett has joined the board as an Omnicom Media Group representative, replacing former OMD Australia CEO Aimee Buchanan, following Buchanan’s appointment as CEO of GroupM Australia & New Zealand. With more than 20 years’ experience in Australia and the UK, Jarrett has been CEO of PHD for the past two years, having previously held the MD role.

MFA CEO, Sophie Madden, said: “Rigg-Smith has been an engaged member of the board for nine years, and we appreciate and thank her for her tireless commitment and the passion she brought to the role. We’re pleased to be welcoming Mark, a respected leader with more than 20 years’ experience in Australia and the UK, who will bring a valuable perspective to our work in championing a dynamic and valued media industry.”

Omnicom Media Group CEO and MFA chair, Peter Horgan, thanked MFA members, the many MFA Committees, Working Groups, and the MFA Board, for the time and energy they put into supporting the industry during the year.

Horgan commented: “2021 was an exceptionally productive year for the MFA, with our submission to the ACCC Digital Advertising Services Inquiry, the launch of the Successful Agency Pitching Guide and updated MFA Transparency Framework, the creation of the MFA DE&I Advisory Council and the introduction of our industry’s first diversity, equity and inclusion measurement via the annual Mediai survey, among other projects. The positive impact of these projects – and the many others currently underway – will continue to be felt in our industry for a long time to come.”

The full board of the MFA comprises:

Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair

Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director – Deputy Chair

Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA

Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia

Melissa Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia

Imogen Hewitt, CEO, Spark Foundry

Jimmy Hyett, CEO & Founder, This Is Flow

Virginia Hyland, CEO, Havas Media Group

Mark Jarrett, CEO, PHD Australia

Chris O’Keefe, COO & Founder, Match & Wood

Michael Rebelo, CEO, Publicis Groupe ANZ

Sue Squillace, CEO, Dentsu Media ANZ

Peter Vogel, CEO, Wavemaker ANZ

In August, The Media Federation of Australia (MFA) launched a new Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Council, in order to provide guidance across the industry.

This article was updated after published.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.