News Corp names 61 finalists for Cannes Young Lions

young lions 2A total of 61 young creatives, marketers and media practitioners are through to the final round of the Cannes Young Lions competition.

Last week s panel of judges selected the finalists at sponsor News Corp’s offices in Holt Street,  withcontestants answering a range of briefs from selling water bottled in paper containers to Foxtel’s upcoming IQ3 box.

Those selected in the marketing, media, print and digital categories will now be tasked with a 24 hour brief while the film finalists face a 48 hour brief, with the winners getting a trip to the south of France next month to compete in the Cannes Young Lions competition.

Runner-up teams will have the opportunity to represent Australia at the Young Spikes Asia competition in Singapore in September.

The second round of the competition starts on Monday, May 19, and winners will be announced at a cocktail event on Thursday May 29

Fiorella Di Santo, News Corp Australia’s group director of sales, said: “We are excited to continue our role of helping uncover incredible young creative talent to represent Australia at 2014 The Cannes Young Lions competition in France.”

The 2014 Cannes Young Lions Australian finalists are:

Mietta McFarlane and Luke Chard Droga5
Jack Nunn and Charlie Gearside M&C Saatchi
Melissa Baillache and David Brown Reactive
Kae Yen Wong and Paolo Sta. Barbara Host Sydney
Louise McQuat and Tim Collier VML
Adam Stone and Long Truong We Are Social
Lucas Black-Dendle and Raz Djamaluddin Whybin\TBWA
Laura Petruccelli and Rohan Cooke Grey
Henry Billington and Paul Michael Donnelly The Brand Agency

Michael Birchall and Mark Starmach Freelance/Circulate
Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder Leo Burnett Sydney
Curt McDonald and Casey Schweikert Leo Burnett
Giles Clayton and Simon Hayes Clemenger BBDO
Peter Defries and Alan Wilson Disciple
James Gillespie and Julia Dixon Oddfellows
Jack Nunn and Charlie Geraside M&C Saatchi
Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney GPYR

Media – ACT:
Luke Wesney UM

Media – NSW:
Max Broer Initiative
Amy Lester Ikon Communications
Elyse Foley Ikon
Natalie Pidding Carat
Jack Bellamy UM
Chanel Cummings Carat Sydney
Jason Maggs Mindshare
John Dawson Mindshare

Media – QLD:
Lauren Kenny Zenithoptimedia Brisbane
Nelson Demartini UM
James Diamond Carat Brisbane
Hannah MacAuslane UM

Media – SA:
Callum Wells MEC

Media – VIC :
Camilla Wallace OMD
Jeremy Gavin OMD Melbourne
Amy Denyer Maxus
Tim Farmer Carat
Jennifer Carroll Mindshare
Elizabeth Calwell Mindshare

Media – WA:
Kylie Macey Adcorp
Emma Williamson Initiative

Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder Leo Burnett Sydney
Casey Schweikert and Curtis McDonald Banjo Advertising
Daniel Davison and Ashley Wilding Banjo Advertising
Sam Grant and Fee Millist Belgiovane Williams Mackay
Chloe Banicevic and Archana Murugaser Arnold Furnace
Sal Cavallaro and Dave Biddle 303Lowe Sydney
Blake Arthur and Matt Enis Ogilvy & Mather
Cat Williams and Charli Hoffmann Momentum Worldwide
Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney GPYR
Edward Negus and Sash Kitulgoda Big Red
Cam McMillan and Adam Slater BWM Melbourne
Millicent Malcolm and Zenon Predecki JWT Melbourne
Tim Newton and Wilora Keeley JWT

Young Marketer:
Meredith Jones Luxottica
Laura Jenkins Foxtel
Pippa Kulmar Retail Oasis
Marty Peat Virgin Mobile


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.