Publish Awards 2016 expands with seven new categories; entries now open

PrintEntries have opened today for the Publish Awards, the publishing industry’s longest running publishing awards program.

Organised by Mumbrella, this year the awards include seven new categories:

  • Publish Executive of the Year
  • Best Use of Short-form Video
  • Best Podcast
  • Best Ad (print)
  • Best Ad (digital)
  • Best Use of Print Strategy
  • Young Journalist of the Year (under 30)

Celebrating the best in consumer, business-to-business and custom publishing across print and digital, the Publish Awards will once again will be judged by a panel of leading publishing, advertising and media executives.

There are a total of 34 categories which include Editor of the Year, Website of the Year, Magazine of the Year and Publishing Company of the Year.

The Publish Executive of the Year award seeks to recognise those with a commercial responsibility for a product and might include traditional publishers, sales people who’ve taken on a wider commercial role and CEOs of publishing companies who can demonstrate what they’ve done to drive the success of their organisation across the judging period.

The Best Use of Short-Form Video will recognise the best use of video to tell a story, dissect an issue or to explain a topic while the Best Podcast award will recognise the same through the use of a podcast.

The Best Ad print and digital awards are open to an advertising agency or an in-house team and will recognise the best print ad and the best digital ad created in the past 12 months.

Complementing these categories is the Best Use of Print Strategy award which will recognise the best communications and media planning utilising print as a significant component.

This new category is open to media agencies, in-house teams or channel planners within creative agencies, where relevant.

This year has also seen the introduction of the Young Journalist of the Year Award which will recognise and reward the hard work of Australia’s most outstanding young journalists, aged 30 or below, who demonstrate excellence and commitment to journalism.

Now in its 20th year, the Publish Awards began life as magazine industry body Publishers Australia Bell Awards, before being renamed the Excellence Awards and then the Publish Awards last year.

This year, entries are welcomed from those working in print and digital news as well as digital-only media titles across any genre. Where applicable, this also includes those within the newspaper side of the publishing industry.

The period being assessed is the 12 months to June 10, 2016.

The closing date for entries is Friday, June 10.

Members of Publishers Australia will once again receive a discount on their entries.

Entries are completed online, with supporting material – including magazines and newspapers – to be supplied.

For entry criteria and details on how to enter, click here.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.