Walkey Awards open for entries

Entries have opened for the 2020 Walkley Awards, to be held in Tamworth on 20 November.

The announcement:

Celebrating yet another milestone and excellence in journalism across all mediums, the 65th Walkley Awards goes regional this year with the awards gala set to dazzle in Tamworth on Nov 20.

The Walkleys recognise excellence in Australian journalism across 30 categories, on all platforms including photojournalism, documentary, non-fiction books and cartoons. As always, digital journalism can be entered into any category.

Categories and entry terms

The Walkley Awards are open to all Australian media for work published on any platform between September 1, 2019 and August 31, 2020. Entries close at midnight on Monday, August 31, 2020.

To work out where you have your best chance, read our category descriptions and terms and conditions.

There’s never been a more important time to celebrate distinctive storytelling mad reporting that seeks out the truth, demonstrates creativity and bravery, and offers new perspectives on important issues while also highlighting them.

The Judging process

The Walkley Awards are judged in a two-tiered process.

In each category, a panel of three senior journalists chooses three finalists, and the Walkley Judging Board nominates the winner. The Gold Walkley – Australian journalists’ most coveted prize – will be awarded to one of the category winners.

Chair of the Walkley Judging Board, Lenore Taylor, said, “From the Bushfires to COVID-19, 2020 has already proven to be a year we will never forget and more than ever it’s a year that has highlighted the important and amazing work that has been done by Australian journalists under some seriously difficult circumstances.

“We’ve strengthened some of the category descriptions to make it easier for you to identify exactly what the judges are looking for and to also help make it clear what you can submit in the All Media Production and Innovation categories. It’s now time to put these stories forward as we open entries for the 65th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.”

The application

Visit walkleys.com to submit your entry online.

The Walkley Foundation also invites the public to submit nominees for the Outstanding Contribution to Journalism Award (chosen by the Walkley Directors) through the entry site.

The cost of entering the awards, including GST, is $150 per entry. Through its support of the Walkley Awards, MEAA covers the entry costs for its financial members as a benefit of membership.

Key dates:

Jul. 1 (Wednesday): Entries open
Aug. 31 (Monday, 11.59pm): Entries close
Oct. 15 (Thursday): Walkley finalists announced (including Nikon-Walkley and Documentary Award finalists) Sydney and Melbourne
Nov .5: Walkley Book Award shortlist announced
Nov. 20 (Friday): Walkley Awards Gala Dinner – Tamworth

Source: Walkley Foundation press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.