Walkley Foundation announces new judging board members

The Walkley Foundation has announced new judging board members, including Neil Breen, host of 4BC Breakfast and Jane Doyle, presenter at Seven News Adelaide.

The announcement:

The Walkley Foundation has welcomed five incoming members of the Walkley Judging Board: Neil Breen, Host, 4BC Breakfast; Jane Doyle, Presenter, Seven News Adelaide; Narelda Jacobs, Presenter, Network Ten; Dean Lewins, Photojournalist, AAP; Cameron Stewart, Associate Editor Victoria, The Australian.

The Walkley Awards for Excellence in journalism are national awards that benchmark best practice and ethical reporting.

Walkley Foundation chief executive Louisa Graham said the integrity and industry standing of the Walkley Awards is based largely on the volunteer contribution these, and other journalists who judge the awards, make to the Foundation.

“Our newly appointed judging board members are senior journalists, expert practitioners and are drawn from a variety of news organisations across media platforms,” Ms Graham said.

“The Walkley Judging Board plays a pivotal role in the work of the Walkley Foundation. Board members, who are appointed by the Directors of the Foundation, function as custodians of the Walkley Awards. They are responsible for judging the overall winners after the first stage of judging is complete. They also act as ambassadors for the Foundation. We are thrilled to have them working with us.”

The Walkley Foundation is at the heart of the Australian media, recognising and promoting excellence in the craft. The Foundation advocates for great journalism and works collaboratively with journalists and media organisations across the country.

The new Judging Board members will join existing members Lenore Taylor (chair), Claire Harvey (deputy chair), Natalie Ahmat, Michael Bachelard, Michael Brissenden, Deborah Knight, Stella Lauri, Hamish Macdonald, Mark Mallabone, Bhakthi Puvanenthiran and Tory Shepherd.

We thank outgoing board members John Lehmann, Mags King, Heidi Murphy and Patricia Karvelas for their valuable contribution to the Foundation and journalism.

Source: Walkleys media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.