Australian Directors Guild announces ADG Award nominees

The Australian Director’s Guild has announced its nominees for the 2012 ADG Awards

Across the various categories, the nominations include Justin Kurzel for Snowtown, Matthew Saville for The Slap, Tony Krawitz for The Tall Man, Paul Scott for documentary series Outback Fight Club and Bruce Hunt for Subaru XV’s Carwash.

The ceremony will be held as part of the ADG’s 30th anniversary at the Australian Maritime Museum in Sydney on May 11.

Kingston Anderson, general manager of the ADG said: “This will be the largest celebration and Awards ceremony the ADG has ever hosted and will be an opportunity to highlight the many achievements of ADG members over the past 30 years and the significant role they have played in the development of the Australian screen industry, as well as to honour the best directors of 2012.”

The nominations are:

Feature film
Brendan Fletcher – Mad Bastards
Justin Kurzel – Snowtown
Julia Leigh – Sleeping Beauty
Kriv Stenders – Red Dog

Documentary feature
Tony Krawitz – The Tall Man
Rhys Graham and Natasha Gadd – Murandak – Songs of Freedom
Bob Connolly and Sophie Raymond – Mrs Carey’s Concert
Tom Zubrycki – The Hungry Tide

TV Drama Series
Matthew Saville – The Slap (Ep3 – Harry)
Peter Andrikidis – East West 101 (The Price of Salvation)
Jet Wilkinson – Crownies
Peter Duncan – Rake (Ep1 – vs Murray)

Documentary Series
Ivan O’Mahoney – Go Back To Where You Came From
Paul Scott – Outback Fight Club
Jacob Hickey – Immigration Nation

Documentary, Stand alone
Phoebe Hart – Orchids My Intersex Adventure
Celeste Geer – Then the Wind Changed
Robert Nugent – Memoirs of a Plague
James Bradley – Ochre & Ink

TV mini-series
Matthew Saville – Cloudstreet
Jeffrey Walker – Small Time Gangster
Peter Andrikidis – Blood Brothers
Shaun Seet – Underbelly: Tell Them Lucifer Was Here
Emma Freeman – Hawke

Trent O’Donnell – Laid
Jefrey Walker, Stuart MacDonald and Chris Lilley – Angry Boys
Trent O’Donnell – Review with Myles Barlow

TV Drama serial
Geoffrey Nottage – Home & Away
Jonathon Dutton – Neighbours
Scott Hartford-Davis – Home & Away
Ralph Strasser – Neighbours

TV Reality program/light entertainment
Ken Connor & Kathy Chambers – Rockwiz, on the road
Mark Adamson – Dancing with the Stars
Craig Melville & Nathan Earl – Lawrence Leung’s Unbelievable

Esban Storm Award for Children’s TV
Jeffrey Walker – H2O: Just add Water
David Scott – Star Wars Lego
Rachel Ward – My Place
Michael James Rowland – My Place

Damien Toogood – Sydney Dogs and Cats Home
Sean Meehan – Sleep Walker
Bruce Hunt – Subaru XV ‘Car Wash’
Sean Meehan – Volkswagen ‘Cross Country’

Music video
Guy Verge Wallace – Wrecking Ball
Steve Rogers – Jack Ladder

Original Online Project
Glendyn Ivin – Playground
Dario Russo – Danger 5: the Diamond Girls
Paul Goldman – Sydney Opera House/Ship Song Project

Short film
Ashlee Page – The Kiss
Dimitrios Pouliotis – Unfinished Thoughts
Craig Irvin – Tethered

Student Film
Epiphany Morgan – The Room
Billie Pleffer – BINO
David Easteal – The Father
Corrie Chen – Wonder Boy


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.