AWARD School names 2022 AWARD School heads

AWARD School has announced the 2022 AWARD School heads, including Matt Chandler, executive creative director at DDB Group Sydney and Katrina Alvarez-Jarratt, creative director, TBWA Sydney for NSW.

The announcement:

AWARD School has today announced its school heads for 2022, welcoming six highly acclaimed creatives who will make their debut as industry leaders helping to guide the next wave of outstanding creative talent in Australia.

Taking on the joint role of National and NSW School Co-Heads – the main leads on the AWARD School 2022 program – are Matt Chandler, Executive Creative Director at DDB Group Sydney and Katrina Alvarez-Jarratt, Creative Director, TBWA / Sydney.

Both have extensive experience in driving creativity across their respective agencies and demonstrated leadership qualities and commitment to the AWARD School program. They will be taking over the reigns from Mandie van der Merwe and Jack Nunn who have worked incredibly hard to raise the bar for AWARD School by bringing great enthusiasm and skill to the role.

“AWARD School has kicked some serious goals in 2021 and I’m genuinely humbled to take the reins from Mandie and Jack, who have done an amazing job through one of the industry’s most challenging periods,” said new National and NSW School Co-Head, Matt Chandler.

“Advertising has never been more in need of exciting new thinkers and AWARD is still the best place to discover and nurture them. I’m thrilled that Kat and I will have the chance to lead its next chapter,” he said.

Katrina Alvarez-Jarratt said: “I’m excited to work with an incredible array of new and existing AWARD School heads in other states, who are leaders in their field, to create an even more inclusive and open school for students across Australasia. Our aim is to give all participants equal access to world-class tutors and industry legends to learn from,” she said.

The AWARD School heads for 2022 are:


Matt Chandler, Executive Creative Director, DDB Group Sydney

Katrina Alvarez-Jarratt, Creative Director, TBWA / Sydney


Sarah Vincenzini, Associate Creative Director, M&C Saatchi Australia

Kieran Moroney, Associate Creative Director, VMLY&R Melbourne


Lindsay Thompson, Creative Director, Khemistry

Jessamy Ross, Senior Copywriter, Khemistry

WA SCHOOL HEAD (remaining in the role from 2021)

Liz Hammond, Creative Director, Rare

SA & NT SCHOOL HEAD (remaining in the role from 2021)

Oliver Prenton, Innovation Director, NATION Creative

In welcoming all new school heads, AWARD Chair Cam Blackley also paid tribute to outgoing National and state-based AWARD School heads for 2021.

“This year’s school heads worked tirelessly to ensure 2021’s cohort of AWARD School students were equipped with the right level of strategic and creative thinking to secure a place within top agencies, setting them up for a great career in advertising.

“They have done an outstanding job and we thank them for all their hard work over the last year in making AWARD School 2021 a success.

“I’d like to particularly call out Mandie and Jack, this year’s National School Heads. Under them, the last few seasons of AWARD School have been incredible and riveting to watch unfold. They took the drama of Covid and used it to reimagine what our AWARD education program could look like.

“They added entrepreneurial thinking to the curriculum and connected the briefs with technology. AWARD School is healthier than ever and producing the most well-rounded group of creative thinkers we’ve seen. Long may that continue,” he said.

Departing AWARD School heads for 2021 are:


Mandie van der Merwe, Executive Creative Director, M&C Saatchi Australia

Jack Nunn, Creative Director, DDB Sydney


Jess Wheeler, Freelance Creative Director

Chris Ellis, Freelance Creative Director


Katheryn Korczak, Head of Copy, NATION Creative


Benjamin Davis, Executive Creative Director, VMLY&R

AWARD School 2022 will officially kick off on Tuesday, 28 September with a free, two-hour virtual application workshop for anyone interested in creativity with a desire to apply for the 2022 AWARD School program.

Participants will hear from industry leaders who will give step-by-step tips and tricks to assist students in submitting their best application. For more information and to register, see the AWARD School website.

Applications for AWARD School 2022 will officially open on 10 February 2022 and will close on 24 February.

Source: Ad Council media release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing.